Section 4 of 6
Clinical evidence
166 evidence topics · 22 sources
Study summaries
AQ109301
Objective
Comparison of single and repeat doses of AQST-109 with intramuscular epinephrine
Primary and secondary objectives stated at study initiation
Location and study date
Single-center study with first participant dosed in December 2023
Study design
Two-part open-label crossover design with injectable comparators
Structure of Part A and Part B
Eligibility criteria
Treatment
Anaphylm 12 mg with bracketing autoinjector and manual intramuscular comparators
Study outcomes
Rationale for using bracketed epinephrine exposure as the primary endpoint
Regulatory basis for bracketing exposure against approved injectable products
Bracketing of approved intramuscular products in earlier phase 1 work
Endpoint measures and sampling window
Primary and secondary endpoints as reported with topline data
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Participants enrolled in the single-dose and repeat-dose parts
Description of analysis sets
No evidence found.
Results
Participant disposition
No evidence found.
Baseline characteristics
No evidence found.
Efficacy results
Single-dose pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics
Repeat-dose pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics
Published single-dose and repeat-dose results
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
No evidence found.
Safety results
No serious adverse events in either part of the study
Safety outcome reported in the publication
Study limitations
Summary: study limitations
The study enrolled healthy adult volunteers rather than participants experiencing an allergic reaction, so epinephrine exposure and hemodynamic response were measured under conditions that differ from an anaphylaxis emergency. It was open label and single center, no clinical efficacy endpoint such as symptom reversal was assessed, and the comparison with approved injectable products rested on pharmacokinetic bracketing rather than on a direct clinical outcome. Enrollment totalled 64 participants in the single-dose part and 36 in the repeat-dose part, and no registry record identifying the trial on ClinicalTrials.gov was located.
OASIS
Objective
Effect of oral allergen challenge on absorption
Comparison of single and repeat doses with and without allergen challenge
Location and study date
Single United States site and study dates
| Field | Quoted record |
|---|---|
| Location | “Secaucus, New Jersey, United States, 07094” |
| Facility | “Frontage Clinical Services, Inc.” |
| Study start (actual) | “2024-07-17” |
| Primary completion (actual) | “2024-10-10” |
| Study completion (actual) | “2024-10-13” |
Study design
Two-part fixed-sequence stratified crossover design
Eligibility criteria
Key inclusion criteria
Key exclusion criteria relating to the oral mucosa
Treatment
Sublingual administration and intramuscular comparator
Study outcomes
Rationale for using baseline-corrected maximum epinephrine plasma concentration as the primary endpoint
Registered primary outcome measures
Rationale for testing absorption under allergen-induced oral change
Regulatory request that prompted the allergen challenge design
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Planned and actual enrollment
| Field | Quoted record |
|---|---|
| Planned enrollment, Part 1 | “Up to 36 subjects will be enrolled in Part 1.” |
| Planned continuation into Part 2 | “Up to 12 subjects who have completed Part 1 (6 from each cohort) may continue to Part 2.” |
| Enrollment (actual) | “36” |
Description of analysis sets
Pharmacokinetic, pharmacodynamic, and safety subsets
Results
Participant disposition
Baseline characteristics
Severity of allergen-induced oral symptoms at screening
Efficacy results
Pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics with and without allergen challenge
Conclusion on absorption during oral allergic symptoms
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
Participant-rated oral symptoms after allergen exposure
Safety results
Study limitations
Summary: study limitations
The study enrolled 36 adults with oral allergy syndrome at a single site and used a fruit allergen challenge to produce oral symptoms, a model of localized oral change rather than of systemic anaphylaxis. The design was open label and fixed sequence, the intramuscular comparator was given without allergen challenge, and Part 2 involved only 12 participants who crossed between single and repeat dosing. Symptom resolution was recorded after epinephrine administration without a placebo or no-treatment control, so the contribution of spontaneous resolution cannot be separated from the treatment effect.
AQ109109
Objective
Confirmatory pharmacokinetic study requested in the Complete Response Letter
Comparison of self-administration, clinician administration, and manual intramuscular injection
Location and study date
Topline results reported in August 2026
Study design
Study arms, including a purposely misplaced administration arm
Alignment with the FDA on the design before conduct
Eligibility criteria
Treatment
Revised packaging and instructions for use with an intramuscular comparator
Study outcomes
Rationale for using geometric mean cmax and median tmax as the primary endpoints
Comparison of self-administered with clinician-administered exposure
Pharmacodynamic assessment of incorrect film placement
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
No evidence found.
Description of analysis sets
No evidence found.
Results
Participant disposition
No administration errors in the self-administration arm
Use errors reported at resubmission
Baseline characteristics
No evidence found.
Efficacy results
Pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics after top-of-tongue placement
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
No evidence found.
Safety results
Study limitations
Summary: study limitations
Results are available only from a company topline announcement and a regulatory update, so the number of participants, the analysis sets, the statistical methods, and the confidence intervals around the reported geometric mean Cmax and median Tmax values have not been reported. The study was conducted in healthy volunteers rather than during allergic reactions, and the pharmacodynamic comparison for the top-of-tongue arm was described as a cross-study comparison against results from study AQ109301 rather than a within-study randomized comparison. No peer-reviewed publication or registry record for the study was located.
Anaphylm human factors validation study
Objective
Evaluation of a revised packaging design and instructions for use
Use-related deficiencies identified by the FDA that the study addressed
Location and study date
Study design
User groups and protocol agreed with the FDA
Eligibility criteria
No evidence found.
Treatment
Revised packaging, instructions for use, and labeling
Study outcomes
Rationale for using observed use errors as the primary endpoint
Use errors mapped to the deficiencies named in the Complete Response Letter
Pouch-opening time and film placement as reported endpoints
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Participants in the previous and the revised human factors studies
Description of analysis sets
No evidence found.
Results
Participant disposition
No evidence found.
Baseline characteristics
No evidence found.
Efficacy results
Use errors observed with the revised packaging and instructions for use
Pouch-opening time reported at resubmission
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
No evidence found.
Safety results
Study limitations
Summary: study limitations
The comparison of 105 participants in the revised study with 166 participants in the earlier study is a comparison across two separate human factors studies rather than a randomized within-study comparison, and the user groups differed after the FDA recommended changes to them. Simulated-use testing measures handling of the packaging under observation and does not establish behaviour during an actual allergic reaction. Only topline counts have been released, with no report of the full set of use errors, the task analysis, or the participant characteristics, and the results have not been published or registered.
PARKS
Objective
Pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, safety, and tolerability in children and adolescents
Location and study date
Study dates and number of sites
| Field | Quoted record |
|---|---|
| Study start (actual) | “2024-12-26” |
| Primary completion (actual) | “2025-03-14” |
| Study completion (actual) | “2025-05-21” |
| Number of locations | “This study has 8 locations” |
Participating sites in the United States and Canada
“AllerVie Clinical Research” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)
“UCLA Pediatric Allergy & Immunology” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)
“Children's Hospital Colorado” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)
“Texas Children's Hospital - Feigin Center” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)
“Halton Pediatric Allergy” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)
Study design
Eligibility criteria
Key exclusion criteria
Treatment
Route of administration
Study outcomes
Rationale for using baseline-corrected maximum epinephrine plasma concentration as the primary endpoint
Registered primary outcome measures
Purpose of matching adult exposure to support pediatric labeling
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Planned and actual enrollment
| Field | Quoted record |
|---|---|
| Planned enrollment | “Up to 24 DESF treated pediatric participants are expected to be enrolled.” |
| Enrollment (actual) | “32” |
Participants who completed the study
Description of analysis sets
No evidence found.
Results
Participant disposition
Baseline characteristics
Age and weight of the enrolled population
Efficacy results
Pharmacokinetic profile compared with adult studies
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
No evidence found.
Safety results
Study limitations
Summary: study limitations
The study was open label, gave a single 12 mg dose with no comparator arm, and enrolled 32 participants aged 7 through 17 years who weighed at least 30 kg, so it provides no evidence for younger or lighter children, for whom 0.15 mg injectable products are used. Participants were dosed while well rather than during an allergic reaction. Results have been described only in a company announcement and the registry record carries no posted results, so individual pharmacokinetic parameters, variability, and the Oral Mucositis Assessment Scale findings are not publicly reported.
EPIPHAST II
Objective
Comparison of single and repeat doses with EpiPen and manual intramuscular epinephrine
Location and study date
Study design
Eligibility criteria
Treatment
AQST-109 12 mg, EpiPen 0.3 mg, and epinephrine 0.3 mg intramuscular injection
Study outcomes
Rationale for using time to maximum epinephrine concentration as the primary endpoint
Clinical importance of rapid systemic epinephrine delivery
Pharmacodynamic measures assessed alongside pharmacokinetics
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Participants across the two integrated phase 1 trials
Description of analysis sets
No evidence found.
Results
Participant disposition
No evidence found.
Baseline characteristics
No evidence found.
Efficacy results
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
No evidence found.
Safety results
Study limitations
Summary: study limitations
The trial was open label and enrolled healthy volunteers, so results describe epinephrine absorption and hemodynamic change in the absence of an allergic reaction. Reported results come from a company announcement and from an integrated analysis that pooled this trial with the earlier EPIPHAST trial, and the individual trial has no registry record and no separate peer-reviewed publication, so the number of participants, the analysis sets, and the variability around the reported Cmax and Tmax values are not available. Repeat dosing produced a mean Cmax of 2,958 pg/mL, well above the 911 pg/mL reported after two intramuscular doses, an exposure difference the FDA later required be justified on safety grounds.
EPIPHAST
Objective
Comparison of sublingual film with intramuscular epinephrine and selection of the final configuration
Location and study date
Conducted in Canada under Health Canada clearance from late 2021
Study design
Part 2 replicate crossover design
Eligibility criteria
Treatment
Multiple formulations and dose strengths evaluated in Part 1
AQST-109 12 mg versus epinephrine 0.3 mg intramuscular injection in Part 2
Study outcomes
Rationale for using time to maximum epinephrine concentration as the primary endpoint
Partial area under the curve within clinically relevant windows
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Participants and doses in Part 2 and Part 3
Description of analysis sets
No evidence found.
Results
Participant disposition
No evidence found.
Baseline characteristics
No evidence found.
Efficacy results
Part 2 pharmacokinetics of AQST-109 12 mg versus intramuscular epinephrine
Integrated phase 1 pharmacokinetic comparison with injectable products
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
No evidence found.
Safety results
Study limitations
Summary: study limitations
EPIPHAST was an open-label adaptive crossover study in healthy adult volunteers conducted in Canada, and its parts used small numbers of doses, for example 48 doses per treatment in Part 2 and 21 to 23 doses per arm in the Part 3 hold-time comparison. Comparisons between Part 3 arms and the intramuscular injection were made against data generated in Part 2 rather than within the same treatment period, and formulations and configurations changed between parts, so results are not uniform across the study. No registry record for the study was located, and the numeric results are reported in company announcements rather than a full study publication.
Anaphylm self-administration pharmacokinetic study
Objective
Comparison of participant self-administration with healthcare-provider administration
Location and study date
Study design
Single-dose three-period randomized crossover design
Eligibility criteria
Treatment
Study outcomes
Rationale for using maximum epinephrine concentration and area under the curve as the primary endpoints
Baseline correction method for the reported concentrations
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Description of analysis sets
No evidence found.
Results
Participant disposition
No evidence found.
Baseline characteristics
No evidence found.
Efficacy results
Pharmacokinetic comparison of self-administration and provider administration
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
No evidence found.
Safety results
No evidence found.
Study limitations
Summary: study limitations
The study enrolled 36 healthy adult volunteers who self-administered the film under supervision in a clinical setting, which does not reproduce administration during an allergic reaction. The design was open label with an intramuscular comparator given by a healthcare provider, and only median Tmax values and a qualitative statement of no statistical difference between the self-administered and provider-administered arms have been released; Cmax, area under the curve values, confidence intervals, and safety results were not reported. No registry record or peer-reviewed publication of the study was located.
Anaphylm temperature and pH pharmacokinetic study
Objective
Effect of oral cavity temperature and pH on absorption
Location and study date
Topline results reported in June 2024
Study design
Single-dose five-period randomized crossover design
Eligibility criteria
Treatment
Beverage conditions tested before dosing
Study outcomes
Rationale for using maximum epinephrine concentration and area under the curve as the primary endpoints
Primary pharmacokinetic parameters and comparison to room temperature water
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Description of analysis sets
No evidence found.
Results
Participant disposition
No evidence found.
Baseline characteristics
No evidence found.
Efficacy results
Statistical interpretation of the exposure differences
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
No evidence found.
Safety results
No evidence found.
Study limitations
Summary: study limitations
The study enrolled 30 healthy adult volunteers and tested only water at three temperatures, lemon water and baking soda water, so it does not directly address the beverages and foods that the company noted fall between these acidity extremes. Pharmacodynamic results were not available at the time of the topline release, safety results were not reported, and only ratios relative to room temperature water were published, without absolute Cmax or area under the curve values or confidence intervals. No registry record or peer-reviewed publication of the study was located.
AQST-109 first-in-human phase 1 single-ascending-dose study
Objective
Safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetic, and pharmacodynamic profiling of four formulations
Location and study date
Conducted in Canada with topline results reported in October 2021
Study design
Randomized single-ascending-dose design across four formulations
Eligibility criteria
Treatment
Study outcomes
Rationale for using maximum epinephrine concentration and time to maximum concentration as the primary endpoints
Comparability measures chosen against approved autoinjectors
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Description of analysis sets
No evidence found.
Results
Participant disposition
No evidence found.
Baseline characteristics
No evidence found.
Efficacy results
Pharmacodynamic comparability with autoinjectors
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
No evidence found.
Safety results
Treatment-emergent adverse events and absence of serious adverse events
Study limitations
Summary: study limitations
The study was a first-in-human single-ascending-dose evaluation in healthy volunteers with 6 to 8 dosings per formulation, so estimates of Cmax, Tmax, and area under the curve rest on very small numbers. It included no randomized injectable comparator arm; comparisons with EpiPen and Auvi-Q were drawn from previous and published studies rather than measured in the same participants. Two of the four formulations, including the formulation later taken forward, differed from the final commercial configuration, and no registry record or peer-reviewed publication of this individual study was located.