Section 4 of 6
Clinical evidence
259 evidence topics · 42 sources
Study summaries
IB1001-303
Objective
Purpose and primary objective in the trial protocol
Secondary and exploratory objectives in the trial protocol
Symptomatic parent study and long-term extension phase
Location and study date
Participating centers named in the publication
Study locations in the registry record
Study dates in the registry record
| Field | Registry value |
|---|---|
| Study start (actual) | “2025-03-18” |
| Primary completion (estimated) | “2027-12-31” |
| Study completion (estimated) | “2028-06-01” |
| First posted | “2024-11-04” |
| Last update posted | “2025-07-03” |
European Union trial start and recruitment start by member state
| Member state | Decision date | Trial start date | Recruitment start date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Germany | “25/03/2025” | “13/05/2025” | “13/05/2025” |
| Spain | “25/03/2025” | “13/05/2025” | “29/05/2025” |
| Slovakia | “26/03/2025” | “13/05/2025” | “19/05/2025” |
Planned number of centers and participants traveling from other countries
Study design
Prescribing information: randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, two-period crossover design
Randomization method
Masking
Immediate crossover without a washout period: rationale in the trial protocol
Screening pathways for participants with and without recent use of prohibited medications
Open-label extension phase
Data monitoring and availability of the protocol and statistical analysis plan
Funding and role of the sponsor
Master protocol published for the Niemann-Pick disease type C trial: rationale for the crossover design
Eligibility criteria
Prescribing information: age, diagnosis, and ataxia at baseline
Key inclusion criteria: genetic confirmation, ataxia severity, and body weight
Inclusion criteria: stable background medications and therapies
Inclusion criteria: contraception
Exclusion criteria
Exclusion criteria: washout of prohibited medications
Exclusion criteria: prohibited medications at European Union sites
Treatment
Prescribing information: dosage and duration in Trial 2
Weight-tiered dosing in the trial protocol
Dose per kilogram for participants weighing less than 35 kg
Formulation and preparation
Matching placebo
Concomitant medications and therapies
Study outcomes
Rationale for using the scale for the assessment and rating of ataxia as the primary endpoint
Primary endpoint defined in the trial protocol
Primary outcome measure in the registry record
SARA items, score range, and meaningful change as described by the investigators
SARA development and validation in spinocerebellar ataxia
SARA reliability and validity in ataxias other than spinocerebellar ataxia
SARA in children: age dependency of scores and of interobserver agreement
SARA in ataxia-telangiectasia: recommendation of a rating-scale review panel
SARA in ataxia-telangiectasia: validation status and correlation with a disease-specific scale in adults
SARA in ataxia-telangiectasia: annual progression in adults
Minimal clinically important difference of the SARA: thresholds cited by the investigators
Minimal clinically important difference of the SARA: 1-point threshold derived from levacetylleucine trials in lysosomal storage disorders
Minimal clinically important difference of the SARA: 1.5-point threshold in cerebellar ataxias
Responsiveness of the SARA over one year in spinocerebellar ataxia
Functional SARA: definition in the prescribing information
Functional SARA: key secondary endpoint for the United States in the trial protocol
Functional SARA: inclusion at FDA request as described by the investigators
Functional SARA: FDA rationale for domain selection and rescoring in the Niemann-Pick disease type C review
Functional SARA: FDA-recommended rescoring of the four SARA domains
Functional SARA: FDA interpretation of a 1-point change and correlation with the SARA in the Niemann-Pick disease type C trial
Functional SARA: origin and content validity in spinocerebellar ataxia
Functional SARA: psychometric properties and meaningful change threshold in spinocerebellar ataxia
SARA and fSARA treatment differences in the Niemann-Pick disease type C trial of levacetylleucine
Interpretability of the SARA in young children: FDA position and protocol subgroup analysis
Secondary and exploratory endpoints listed in the trial protocol
ICARS and NeuroQOL-UEF designations changed in the statistical analysis plan
International Cooperative Ataxia Rating Scale
Spinocerebellar Ataxia Functional Index
Clinical Global Impression scales
Quality-of-life instruments and exit interviews
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Sample size calculation in the trial protocol
Estimated enrollment in the registry record
| Field | Registry value |
|---|---|
| Enrollment (estimated) | “60” |
Participants screened, randomized, and analyzed
Description of analysis sets
Analysis populations
Primary analysis model in the statistical analysis plan
Primary estimand and intercurrent events
Handling of missing data
Significance level and multiplicity
Analysis of secondary endpoints
Prespecified subgroups and interim analysis
“Naïve versus non-naïve as determined at screening” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)
“Age (pediatric versus adult)” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)
“Gender (male versus female)” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)
“Region (US versus rest of world)” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)
“There is no interim analysis planned.” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)
Results
Participant disposition
Screening, randomization, and inclusion in the analysis
Prescribing information: completion and missing assessments
Congress abstract submitted before data availability: number randomized
Congress results abstract: number enrolled
Baseline characteristics
Prescribing information: age, sex, and race
Demographics and baseline characteristics by treatment sequence
| Characteristic | Total, n = 73 | Levacetylleucine to placebo, n = 36 | Placebo to levacetylleucine, n = 37 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pediatric, younger than 18 years | “47 (64%)” | “23 (64%)” | “24 (65%)” |
| Adult, 18 years or older | “26 (36%)” | “13 (36%)” | “13 (35%)” |
| Female | “38 (52%)” | “17 (47%)” | “21 (57%)” |
| Male | “35 (48%)” | “19 (53%)” | “16 (43%)” |
| Hispanic or Latino | “4 (5%)” | “2 (6%)” | “2 (5%)” |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | “51 (70%)” | “26 (72%)” | “25 (68%)” |
| Ethnicity not reported | “3 (4%)” | “2 (6%)” | “1 (3%)” |
| Ethnicity unknown | “15 (21%)” | “6 (17%)” | “9 (24%)” |
| Asian | “4 (5%)” | “2 (6%)” | “2 (5%)” |
| Black or African American | “0” | “0” | “0” |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander | “1 (1%)” | “1 (3%)” | “0” |
| White | “55 (75%)” | “28 (78%)” | “27 (73%)” |
| Race not reported | “9 (12%)” | “3 (8%)” | “6 (16%)” |
| Other race | “4 (5%)” | “2 (6%)” | “2 (5%)” |
| Age at diagnosis: early-infantile, younger than 2 years | “51 (70%)” | “24 (67%)” | “27 (73%)” |
| Age at diagnosis: late-infantile, 2 to younger than 6 years | “16 (22%)” | “8 (22%)” | “8 (22%)” |
| Age at diagnosis: juvenile, 6 to younger than 15 years | “3 (4%)” | “2 (6%)” | “1 (3%)” |
| Age at diagnosis: adolescent or adult, 15 years or older | “3 (4%)” | “2 (6%)” | “1 (3%)” |
| Weight 15 to less than 25 kg, 2 g per day | “18 (25%)” | “8 (22%)” | “10 (27%)” |
| Weight 25 to less than 35 kg, 3 g per day | “17 (23%)” | “9 (25%)” | “8 (22%)” |
| Weight 35 kg or more, 4 g per day | “38 (52%)” | “19 (53%)” | “19 (51%)” |
Baseline scores on the efficacy and quality-of-life measures
| Measure | Baseline before levacetylleucine, mean (SD); n | Baseline before placebo, mean (SD); n |
|---|---|---|
| SARA | “19·81 (6·43); n=71” | “19·87 (6·41); n=72” |
| FDA functional SARA | “7·83 (2·60); n=71” | “7·86 (2·60); n=72” |
| SCAFI | “−0·50 (0·99); n=71” | “−0·50 (0·98); n=72” |
| ICARS | “51·20 (17·05); n=70” | “51·54 (16·97); n=72” |
| EQ-Visual Analogue Scale | “74·2 (21·3); n=71” | “74·5 (21·4); n=72” |
| Pediatric NeuroQuality of Life Upper Extremity Function | “60·5 (28·0); n=25” | “59·7 (27·8); n=26” |
| Adult NeuroQuality of Life Upper Extremity Function | “57·1 (20·4); n=15” | “57·1 (20·4); n=15” |
Representativeness of the trial population
Efficacy results
Primary endpoint: fSARA total score, prescribing information
fSARA total score by period and treatment sequence, prescribing information
| Variable | Treatment Sequence 1: AQNEURSA then placebo | Treatment Sequence 2: placebo then AQNEURSA |
|---|---|---|
| Baseline, participants | “N=36” | “N=37” |
| Baseline, mean (SD) | “7.3 (2.6)” | “8.5 (2.5)” |
| Period I, participants | “N=34” | “N=37” |
| Period I, mean (SD) | “6.6 (2.8)” | “8.5 (2.6)” |
| Period II, participants | “N=35” | “N=35” |
| Period II, mean (SD) | “7.0 (3.1)” | “7.8 (2.7)” |
Least squares mean fSARA score by treatment, prescribing information
| Treatment | Least squares mean fSARA score (SE) |
|---|---|
| AQNEURSA | “7.2 (0.1)” |
| Placebo | “7.8 (0.1)” |
| Treatment difference (95% CI) | “-0.6 (-0.9, -0.2)” |
Change in fSARA score by period within each treatment sequence, prescribing information
Primary endpoint: SARA total score, peer-reviewed publication
Primary and secondary efficacy endpoints at end of treatment, peer-reviewed publication
| Endpoint | End of treatment, levacetylleucine, mean (SD); n | End of treatment, placebo, mean (SD); n | Mean change from baseline, levacetylleucine (SD) | Mean change from baseline, placebo (SD) | Linear mixed model treatment effect (95% CI) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SARA (primary) | “17·96 (7·30); n=69” | “19·73 (7·39); n=72” | “−1·92 (2·81)” | “−0·14 (2·38)” | “−1·88 (−2·70 to −1·06)” |
| FDA functional SARA | “7·20 (2·83); n=69” | “7·76 (2·96); n=72” | “−0·65 (1·16)” | “−0·10 (1·02)” | “−0·57 (−0·92 to −0·23)” |
| SCAFI | “−0·41 (1·06); n=70” | “−0·45 (1·05); n=72” | “0·06 (0·28)” | “0·04 (0·24)” | “0·01 (−0·06 to 0·07)” |
| ICARS | “47·30 (18·67); n=69” | “49·85 (19·10); n=72” | “−4·22 (7·77)” | “−1·69 (6·09)” | “−2·84 (−4·87 to −0·81)” |
| Investigator's Clinical Global Impression of Improvement | “3·4 (0·8); n=35” | “3·8 (0·6); n=37” | “−0·6 (0·8)” | “−0·2 (0·6)” | “−0·4 (−0·7 to −0·02)” |
SARA change by period: placebo in period 1 and placebo after levacetylleucine in period 2
Secondary endpoints: fSARA, investigator CGI-I, ICARS, and SCAFI, peer-reviewed publication
Comparison of the observed effect with reported thresholds, as stated by the investigators
Primary endpoint: SARA total score, company-reported topline results
Secondary endpoints: ICARS and investigator CGI-I, company-reported topline results
SARA and fSARA treatment differences, company-reported at FDA approval
Primary and secondary endpoints, congress results abstract
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
Patient-reported, caregiver-reported, and quality-of-life endpoints at end of treatment
| Endpoint | End of treatment, levacetylleucine, mean (SD); n | End of treatment, placebo, mean (SD); n | Mean change from baseline, levacetylleucine (SD) | Mean change from baseline, placebo (SD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Caregiver Clinical Global Impression of Improvement | “3·8 (0·8); n=30” | “3·8 (0·8); n=36” | “−0·2 (0·8)” | “−0·2 (0·8)” |
| Patient Clinical Global Impression of Improvement | “3·5 (1·0); n=31” | “3·6 (0·9); n=33” | “−0·5 (1·0)” | “−0·4 (0·9)” |
| EQ-Visual Analogue Scale | “75·8 (20·5); n=70” | “74·0 (22·5); n=71” | “1·3 (15·5)” | “−0·3 (19·2)” |
| Pediatric NeuroQuality of Life Upper Extremity Function | “52·6 (27·2); n=25” | “54·9 (25·3); n=25” | “−4·9 (11·9)” | “−6·2 (14·6)” |
| Adult NeuroQuality of Life Upper Extremity Function | “57·4 (18·2); n=15” | “57·2 (19·5); n=15” | “−0·4 (10·8)” | “−0·9 (9·4)” |
EQ-5D-5L in adults and EQ-5D-Y in participants younger than 18 years
Exit interviews: improvements reported by participants and caregivers
Safety results
Prescribing information: thrombocytopenia in one participant during Trial 2
Treatment-emergent adverse events, serious adverse events, and deaths
Discontinuations and events assessed as related to levacetylleucine
Treatment-emergent adverse events by system organ class
| System organ class | Levacetylleucine, n = 73, n (%) | Levacetylleucine, events | Placebo, n = 72, n (%) | Placebo, events | Total, n = 73, n (%) | Total, events |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Any treatment emergent adverse event | “29 (40%)” | “54” | “25 (35%)” | “75” | “37 (51%)” | “129” |
| Infections and infestations | “15 (21%)” | “17” | “13 (18%)” | “15” | “22 (30%)” | “32” |
| Gastrointestinal disorders | “5 (7%)” | “6” | “10 (14%)” | “21” | “12 (16%)” | “27” |
| Injury, poisoning, and procedural complications | “7 (10%)” | “9” | “5 (7%)” | “7” | “10 (14%)” | “16” |
| Respiratory, thoracic, and mediastinal disorders | “6 (8%)” | “7” | “5 (7%)” | “8” | “8 (11%)” | “15” |
| General disorders and administration site conditions | “3 (4%)” | “4” | “3 (4%)” | “3” | “5 (7%)” | “7” |
| Nervous system disorders | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “3 (4%)” | “4” | “5 (7%)” | “6” |
| Skin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | “3 (4%)” | “3” | “2 (3%)” | “3” | “5 (7%)” | “6” |
| Psychiatric disorders | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “2 (3%)” | “3” | “3 (4%)” | “4” |
| Renal and urinary disorders | “0” | “0” | “3 (4%)” | “3” | “3 (4%)” | “3” |
| Eye disorders | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “2 (3%)” | “3” |
| Blood and lymphatic system disorders | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “2 (3%)” | “2” |
| Investigations | “0” | “0” | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “2 (3%)” | “2” |
| Metabolism and nutrition disorders | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “2 (3%)” | “2” |
| Musculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | “0” | “0” | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “2 (3%)” | “2” |
| Hepatobiliary disorders | “0” | “0” | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “1 (1%)” | “1” |
| Neoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (including cysts and polyps) | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “0” | “0” | “1 (1%)” | “1” |
Treatment-emergent adverse events reported in two or more participants during either treatment
| Preferred term | Levacetylleucine, n = 73, n (%) | Levacetylleucine, events | Placebo, n = 72, n (%) | Placebo, events | Total, n = 73, n (%) | Total, events |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cough | “6 (8%)” | “7” | “2 (3%)” | “3” | “6 (8%)” | “10” |
| Upper respiratory tract infection | “3 (4%)” | “3” | “3 (4%)” | “3” | “6 (8%)” | “6” |
| Fall | “3 (4%)” | “3” | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “5 (7%)” | “5” |
| Pyrexia | “3 (4%)” | “4” | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “5 (7%)” | “6” |
| Diarrhoea | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “4 (6%)” | “4” | “5 (7%)” | “6” |
| Vomiting | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “4 (6%)” | “7” | “5 (7%)” | “8” |
| Urinary tract infection | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “3 (4%)” | “4” |
| Abdominal pain | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “3 (4%)” | “3” | “3 (4%)” | “4” |
| Lower respiratory tract infection | “2 (3%)” | “3” | “0” | “0” | “2 (3%)” | “3” |
| Respiratory tract infection | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “0” | “0” | “2 (3%)” | “2” |
| Skin laceration | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “2 (3%)” | “3” |
| Thermal burn | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “0” | “0” | “2 (3%)” | “2” |
| Headache | “0” | “0” | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “2 (3%)” | “2” |
Laboratory tests, vital signs, and electrocardiograms
FDA summary of adverse reactions in ataxia-telangiectasia
Safety, company-reported at FDA approval
Study limitations
Summary
IB1001-303 randomized 73 participants at ten centers to a two-period crossover with 12 weeks of each treatment and an immediate crossover, with no washout between periods. The protocol chose an analysis that does not require a washout, and the publication describes the placebo period that followed levacetylleucine as having effectively served as a washout. The publication and the prescribing information report no result of a test for carryover or sequence effects. In the prescribing information, mean baseline fSARA was 7.3 in the sequence that started with levacetylleucine and 8.5 in the sequence that started with placebo.
The endpoint reported differs by source. The protocol names the 40-point SARA as the primary endpoint in all jurisdictions besides the United States and the 16-point functional SARA (fSARA) as a key secondary endpoint for the United States. The publication reports a SARA treatment effect of -1.88 points (95% CI -2.70 to -1.06), with mean changes of -1.92 on levacetylleucine and -0.14 on placebo. The prescribing information reports an fSARA treatment difference of -0.6 (95% CI -0.9 to -0.2; two-sided p = 0.0013) and gives no numerical SARA result. The fSARA p value is 0.001 in the publication, and the company's approval release gives a two-sided p value below 0.001.
The sample size calculation used a one-sided significance level of 5% and assumed a 1.0-point SARA difference, a threshold taken from an analysis of the sponsor's trials in lysosomal storage disorders; an independent estimate of the SARA minimal clinically important difference is 1.5 points. No adjustment for multiple comparisons was applied, and the statistical analysis plan classes every evaluation other than the primary endpoint as exploratory. The statistical analysis plan specifies descriptive summaries for the ICARS, and the publication reports a model-based ICARS treatment effect with a p value. Success of masking was not assessed. The SARA has not been validated specifically in ataxia-telangiectasia, and pediatric SARA scores are age-dependent; 47 of 73 participants (64%) were younger than 18 years.
The controlled comparison lasted 12 weeks per treatment, 55 of 73 participants (75%) were White, and eligibility required an age of 4 years or older and a SARA score of 7 to 34. Long-term efficacy and safety data depend on the open-label extension phase, which was ongoing at publication. The results were published in a peer-reviewed journal in July 2026; the trial was funded by IntraBio, and the publication acknowledges an IntraBio employee for writing and editorial assistance. The ClinicalTrials.gov record lists an estimated enrollment of 60, was last updated in July 2025, and carries no posted results. One congress abstract, submitted before data were available, states that 74 participants were randomized, and the congress results abstract states that no serious adverse events occurred, whereas the publication reports 73 randomized participants and three withdrawals associated with serious adverse events judged unrelated to treatment.
Limitations stated by the investigators
Multiplicity and the exploratory status of secondary endpoints
IB1001-203
Objective
Secondary and exploratory objectives of the parent study
Symptomatic and long-term questions addressed by the parent study and the extension phase
Location and study date
Registry dates and status
| Field | Quoted record |
|---|---|
| Study start (actual) | “2020-01-08” |
| Primary completion (actual) | “2025-02-11” |
| Study completion (actual) | “2025-10-27” |
| Results first posted | “2026-03-25” |
| Recruitment status | “Terminated” |
Registry study sites
| Country | Site |
|---|---|
| United States | “University of California - Los Angeles” |
| Germany | “University of Giessen” |
| Spain | “Hospital Universitario La Paz” |
| United Kingdom | “Royal Papworth Hospital NHS Foundation Trust” |
Period of participation and number of hospitals
Termination before target recruitment
Study design
Multinational, open-label, rater-blinded phase 2 study
| Design field | Quoted record |
|---|---|
| Phase | “Phase 2” |
| Allocation | “Non-Randomized” |
| Interventional model | “Single Group Assignment” |
| Masking | “Single (Outcomes Assessor)” |
Baseline, treatment, and washout periods of the parent study
Post-treatment washout as the within-participant control
Blinded rating of video recordings
Choice of an open-label design over a placebo-controlled crossover design
Screening for prior use of the racemate
Extension phase: two 1-year treatment periods separated by a washout
One of three trials under a master protocol
Independent data safety monitoring board
Eligibility criteria
Key inclusion criteria
Key exclusion criteria
Prohibited medications and washout
| Prohibited medication | Quoted record |
|---|---|
| Aminopyridines | “Aminopyridines (including sustained-release form);” |
| Racemate | “N-Acetyl-DL-Leucine (e.g. Tanganil®);” |
| L-enantiomer from another source | “N-Acetyl-L-Leucine (prohibited if not provided as IMP);” |
| Riluzole | “Riluzole;” |
| Gabapentin | “Gabapentin;” |
| Varenicline | “Varenicline;” |
| Chlorzoxazone | “Chlorzoxazone;” |
| Sulfasalazine | “Sulfasalazine;” |
| Rosuvastatin | “Rosuvastatin.” |
Entry to the extension phase
Treatment
Dose by age and body weight
| Age and weight group | Registry description of treatment |
|---|---|
| 13 years or older | “Patients ≥13 years old will receive a total daily dose of 4 g/day (administered as 3 doses per day).” |
| 6 to 12 years, 15 to less than 25 kg | “Patients aged 6-12 years weighing 15 to <25 kg will take 2 g per day: 1 g in the morning and 1 g in the evening.” |
| 6 to 12 years, 25 to less than 35 kg | “Patients aged 6-12 years weighing 25 to <35 kg will take 3 g per day: 1 g in the morning, 1 g in the afternoon, and 1 g in the evening.” |
| 6 to 12 years, 35 kg or more | “Patients aged 6-12 years weighing ≥35 kg will take 4 g per day: 2 g in the morning, 1g in the afternoon and 1 g in the evening (as per adults)” |
Formulation in the parent study and the extension phase
Timing with meals, dose reduction, and compliance
Extension phase treatment periods
Permitted concomitant therapies
Study outcomes
Rationale for using clinical impression of change in severity as the primary endpoint
Definition of the primary endpoint
Sponsor rationale: heterogeneous presentation and an individually chosen anchor test
Sponsor rationale: use of the CI-CS in place of the SARA
Scoring by two raters and adjudication
Key secondary endpoint: Clinical Impression of Severity
Other secondary endpoints
Extension phase primary endpoint in the 2021 master protocol
Extension phase primary endpoint in protocol version 7.0
Extension phase endpoints as presented
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Planned enrollment
| Population | Planned number |
|---|---|
| Enrolled | “To be enrolled: Approximately 39 patients” |
| Per protocol analysis | “To be analyzed according to the Per Protocol Analysis: Approximately 30 patients” |
Sample size assumptions and power
Extension phase sample size
Description of analysis sets
Modified intention-to-treat analysis set
Safety and per protocol sets
Planned primary analysis and multiplicity
Handling of missing video recordings
Extension phase analysis set and planned test
Results
Participant disposition
Reasons for not completing
| Study period | Reason | Participants |
|---|---|---|
| Treatment with IB1001 | “Adverse Event” | “1” |
| Extension phase | “Adverse Event” | “1” |
| Extension phase | “Withdrawal by Subject” | “1” |
| Extension phase | “Lost to Follow-up” | “1” |
Prior use of prohibited medications and consent to the extension phase
Participants with extension phase assessments
Baseline characteristics
Clinical Global Impression of Severity at the baseline visits
Efficacy results
Primary endpoint: CI-CS during treatment minus CI-CS during washout
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Participants analyzed | “16” |
| Mean (standard deviation), score on a scale | “0.16 (1.65)” |
Components of the primary endpoint
| Period | CI-CS, mean (standard deviation) |
|---|---|
| Treatment with IB1001 (Visit 4 versus Visit 2) | “0.16 (0.81)” |
| Post-treatment washout (Visit 6 versus Visit 4) | “0.00 (1.18)” |
Key secondary endpoint: change in Clinical Impression of Severity
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Participants analyzed | “16” |
| Mean (standard deviation), score on a scale | “-0.09 (0.39)” |
CI-CS for the non-primary anchor test
| Period | CI-CS, mean (standard deviation) |
|---|---|
| Treatment with IB1001 | “0.00 (1.07)” |
| Post-treatment washout | “0.17 (1.03)” |
Change in SARA total score
| Period | Change, mean (standard deviation) |
|---|---|
| Treatment with IB1001 | “-0.31 (3.47)” |
| Post-treatment washout | “0.59 (2.99)” |
Change in SCAFI total score
| Period | Change, mean (standard deviation) |
|---|---|
| Treatment with IB1001 | “0.0583 (0.3384)” |
| Post-treatment washout | “0.0157 (0.1923)” |
Sponsor summary of the parent study results
Extension phase: change in SARA after 1 year of treatment
Extension phase: change in SARA during the washout and after a second year
Extension phase: comparison with a natural history cohort
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
Change in EQ-5D visual analogue scale
| Period | Change, mean (standard deviation) |
|---|---|
| Treatment with IB1001 | “4.9 (9.7)” |
| Post-treatment washout | “-0.8 (10.5)” |
Caregiver and participant Clinical Global Impression of Severity by visit
Safety results
Deaths, serious adverse events, and other adverse events by period
| Category | Treatment with IB1001 | Post-treatment washout | Extension phase |
|---|---|---|---|
| All-cause mortality | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| Serious adverse events | “1/17 (5.88%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “2/13 (15.38%)” |
| Other (not including serious) adverse events | “9/17 (52.94%)” | “2/17 (11.76%)” | “11/13 (84.62%)” |
Serious adverse events by term
| Event | Treatment with IB1001 | Post-treatment washout | Extension phase | Severity and relatedness |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gastrointestinal lymphoma | “1/17 (5.88%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “0/13 (0.00%)” | “severe, not related” |
| Peritoneal mesothelioma malignant | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “1/13 (7.69%)” | “severe, not related” |
| Intraductal proliferative breast lesion | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “1/13 (7.69%)” | “moderate, not related” |
| Infection | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “1/13 (7.69%)” | “severe, not related” |
| Mastitis | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “1/13 (7.69%)” | “severe, not related” |
| Seroma | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “1/13 (7.69%)” | “severe, not related” |
| Erythema | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “1/13 (7.69%)” | “severe, not related” |
Non-serious adverse events reported during the parent study
| Event | Treatment with IB1001 | Post-treatment washout |
|---|---|---|
| Abdominal pain upper | “2/17 (11.76%)” | “1/17 (5.88%)” |
| Nasopharyngitis | “1/17 (5.88%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” |
| Oral herpes | “1/17 (5.88%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” |
| Respiratory tract infection | “1/17 (5.88%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” |
| Upper respiratory tract infection | “1/17 (5.88%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” |
| Chorea | “1/17 (5.88%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” |
| Syncope | “1/17 (5.88%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” |
| Fatigue | “1/17 (5.88%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” |
| Hypertransaminasaemia | “1/17 (5.88%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” |
| Pollakiuria | “1/17 (5.88%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” |
| Menstruation irregular | “1/17 (5.88%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” |
| Cough | “1/17 (5.88%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” |
| Hyperhydrosis | “1/17 (5.88%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” |
| Gastrointestinal lymphoma | “1/17 (5.88%)” | “0/17 (0.00%)” |
| Diarrhoea | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “1/17 (5.88%)” |
| Muscle spasms | “0/17 (0.00%)” | “1/17 (5.88%)” |
Non-serious adverse events reported during the extension phase
| Event | Extension phase |
|---|---|
| Diarrhoea | “3/13 (23.08%)” |
| Nasopharyngitis | “2/13 (15.38%)” |
| Respiratory tract infection | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| Bronchitis | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| Candida infection | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| Corona virus infection | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| Dysphagia | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| Vomiting | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| Gait disturbance | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| Fall | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| Hand fracture | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| B-lymphocyte count abnormal | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| T-lymphocyte count abnormal | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| Type 2 diabetes mellitus | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| Muscle spasms | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| Myalgia | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| Speech disorder | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| Tremor | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
| Micturition urgency | “1/13 (7.69%)” |
Adverse events the sponsor considered related to the study drug
Study limitations
Summary
IB1001-203 was a single-group, open-label trial in which each participant's 6-week post-treatment washout served as the comparison for the 6-week treatment period. Blinded raters scored the primary endpoint from video recordings; the SARA, the SCAFI, and the clinical global impression scales were recorded at the study sites under open-label conditions. The protocol planned approximately 39 enrolled participants and calculated 76% power with 30 participants. The sponsor terminated the trial after 17 participants were enrolled, and 16 were analyzed. The registry posts a mean and standard deviation for each endpoint and no statistical test. The posted primary endpoint was a mean of 0.16 (standard deviation 1.65), and on the 3-point reclassification 8 of 16 participants were rated improved after treatment and 8 of 16 after washout. The extension phase was unblinded. Its primary endpoint was the CI-CS in the 2021 master protocol and the SARA in protocol version 7.0. Extension phase efficacy results are available from a conference abstract covering 12 participants at 1 year and 7 participants at 2 years, and the abstract does not describe the natural history cohort used for its comparison of progression rates.
Limitations and caveats posted by the sponsor
No correction for multiple comparisons
Mashhad N-acetyl-L-leucine crossover trial
Objective
Location and study date
Recruitment site and enrollment period
Registry record
| Field | Quoted record |
|---|---|
| Registration number | “IRCT20210413050958N1” |
| Registration date | “2021-10-27, 1400/08/05” |
| Registration timing | “prospective” |
| Recruitment status | “Recruitment complete” |
| Expected recruitment start date | “2021-12-06, 1400/09/15” |
| Expected recruitment end date | “2022-08-06, 1401/05/15” |
| Recruitment center | “Ghaem Hospital” |
| City | “Mashhad” |
| Sponsor and funding source | “Mashhad University of Medical Sciences” |
Study design
Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, two-period crossover trial
| Design field | Quoted record |
|---|---|
| Phase | “2” |
| Assignment | “Crossover” |
| Placebo | “Used” |
| Blinding (investigator's opinion) | “Triple blinded” |
| Target sample size | “16” |
Randomization stratified by sex
Blinding and placebo matching
Eligibility criteria
Registry inclusion criteria
Registry exclusion criteria
Genetic diagnosis in the randomized participants
Treatment
N-acetyl-L-leucine and placebo regimens
Changes to formulation and dose recorded in the registry update
Study outcomes
Rationale for using SARA and SCAFI scores as the primary endpoints
Primary outcome and its measurement
| Field | Quoted record |
|---|---|
| Description | “Movement signs” |
| Timepoint | “Before the intervention and 6 weeks after taking supplement or placebo in every study stage” |
| Method of measurement | “Using the Scale for Assessment and Rating of Ataxia (SARA) score and Spinocerebellar Ataxia Functional Index (SCAFI)” |
Secondary outcomes
Systematic review comment on ataxia scales in ataxia-telangiectasia
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Target sample size and participants randomized
Description of analysis sets
Availability of the statistical analysis plan
| Document | Registry sharing plan |
|---|---|
| Statistical analysis plan | “No - There is not a plan to make this available” |
| Study protocol | “Yes - There is a plan to make this available” |
Results
Participant disposition
Baseline characteristics
Sex and age of the randomized participants
| Characteristic | Value |
|---|---|
| Participants randomized | “16 subjects” |
| Sex | “eight females, eight males” |
| Age | “mean age 9.8 ± 3.5 years” |
Efficacy results
Ataxia outcomes
Authors' conclusion
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
PedsQL physical health score
Safety results
Safety assessment and reported side effects
Study limitations
Summary
The trial randomized 16 participants at one hospital after 4 of 20 were excluded, with 6-week treatment periods separated by a 4-week washout. The participants had a mean age of 9.8 years. The abstract reports the comparisons with placebo as p > 0.05 and gives no effect estimates, confidence intervals, or scores by period. The registry names Hubei ipure Biotech as the source of the N-acetyl-L-leucine caplets, dosed at 1 to 4 g per day by weight, and states that no statistical analysis plan will be shared. A 2026 systematic review rated the trial as having “some concerns” on the RoB 2 tool and listed limited duration and a potential carry-over effect as its limitations. The evidence quoted here comes from the article's abstract and the registry record.
Risk of bias assessment in a systematic review
| Item | Assessment |
|---|---|
| Risk of bias (RoB 2) | “Some concerns” |
| Limitations | “Limited duration; potential carry‐over effect” |
Acetyl-DL-leucine case series
Objective
Location and study date
Study design
Uncontrolled case series with assessments before and during treatment
Eligibility criteria
Treatment
Study outcomes
Rationale for using SARA total score as an efficacy outcome
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Participants treated and assessed
| Population | Participants |
|---|---|
| Treated with acetyl-DL-leucine | “Six patients” |
| Assessed at 1 month of therapy | “5 patients” |
| Assessed after 6 and 12 months | “1 patient” |
Description of analysis sets
Results
Participant disposition
Baseline characteristics
Baseline SARA score and oculomotor findings
| Characteristic | Value |
|---|---|
| SARA at baseline, mean (SD, minimum to maximum) | “22.1 (5.88, 11-28.5)” |
| Slow-phase velocity of downbeat nystagmus at baseline | “5.57°/s (1.8, 3.53-6.99)” |
Efficacy results
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
Safety results
Study limitations
Summary
The series included six participants treated open label with the racemate acetyl-DL-leucine and had no control group. Follow-up measurements were made at 1 month in 5 participants and at 6 and 12 months in 1 participant. The abstract reports no adverse event or quality-of-life results. A 2026 systematic review rated the quality of the study as low on the National Institutes of Health tool for studies without a control group and listed limited duration and incomplete assessment in some cases as its limitations. The evidence quoted here comes from the article's abstract.
Quality assessment in a systematic review
| Item | Assessment |
|---|---|
| Quality | “Low” |
| Limitations | “Limited duration and incomplete assessment in some cases” |
Acetyl-DL-leucine case report
Objective
Location and study date
Study design
Single-participant report with scheduled assessments
Eligibility criteria
Not applicable.
Treatment
Study outcomes
Rationale for using SARA score as an efficacy outcome
Outcome measures
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Description of analysis sets
Not applicable.
Results
Participant disposition
No evidence found.
Baseline characteristics
Age and sex
| Characteristic | Value |
|---|---|
| Participant | “a 9-year-old female with AT” |
Efficacy results
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
Safety results
Study limitations
Summary
The report describes one participant, a 9-year-old girl, treated with the racemate N-acetyl-DL-leucine at 4 g per day for 16 weeks without a comparator. The abstract gives the change in SARA score (11.0 points, 48.88%) without the baseline score and does not describe blinding of the assessor. Nausea and constipation occurred in the first week. The evidence quoted here comes from the article's abstract.