Evicenter
P&T meetings

Lytenava

Neovascular age-related macular degeneration

Also known as bevacizumab-vikg
Regulatory submission
BLA approved July 2026
50 sources

New drug review

Lytenava

Every table value is a verbatim quote from the prescribing information cited beneath it; a fact the label does not carry is quoted below its table, with its own source. · 3 sources

Review section

FieldValue
DrugLytenava (bevacizumab-vikg)
Indication reviewedNeovascular age-related macular degeneration
Therapeutic categoryOphthalmic vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) inhibitors (intravitreal anti-VEGF monoclonal antibody)
ManufacturerOutlook Therapeutics
Regulatory statusApproved July 24, 2026
Data as ofSeptember 28, 2026
Prepared byTo be completed by the reviewing plan
Review statusDraft for pharmacy and therapeutics committee review

Indications

Pharmacokinetics

Table 2. Pharmacokinetic parameters

Generic Name(s)BioavailabilityProtein BindingMetabolismExcretionHalf-Life
Bevacizumab-vikgNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Drug interactions

Table 3. Major drug interactions

No evidence found.

Adverse drug events

Table 4. Adverse drug events reported in 1% or more of patients across five clinical trials

Adverse EventLytenava 1.25 mg (N = 601), %Ranibizumab 0.5 mg (N = 345), %
Conjunctival hemorrhage“4%”“3%”
Eye pain“2%”“1%”
Vitreous floaters“2%”“1%”

Dosing and administration

Effectiveness

Table 6. Comparative clinical trials

Study and Drug RegimenStudy Design and DemographicsStudy Size and DurationEnd PointsResults
NORSE TWO (NCT03834753): “randomized to LYTENAVA 1.25 mg (N=113) administered once monthly for 1 year or ranibizumab 0.5 mg (N=115) administered once monthly for 3 months (Days 0, 30, and 60) followed by once every 3 months for 1 year (Days 150 and 240)”“a randomized, multi-center, masked, active-controlled study”“adult patients with nAMD”“Patient ages ranged from 54 to 98 years, with a median age of 79 years.”“LYTENAVA 1.25 mg (N=113)”“ranibizumab 0.5 mg (N=115)”“once monthly for 1 year”Primary: “The primary efficacy endpoint was the proportion of patients who gained ≥ 15 Best Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA) letters from baseline to Month 11 as measured by the Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) letter score.”Secondary: “The pre-specified secondary efficacy endpoint of mean change in BCVA from baseline to Month 11”Patients gaining ≥15 letters, n/N (%): Lytenava “45/108 (41.7)”Ranibizumab “24/104 (23.1)”Risk difference: “0.1859”95% CI: “0.0442, 0.3086”“The difference observed between the study drug groups was significant, in favor of LYTENAVA”Mean change in BCVA: “favored LYTENAVA once monthly compared to ranibizumab administered once monthly for 3 months then every 3 months”
NORSE EIGHT (NCT06190093): “randomized (1:1) to LYTENAVA 1.25 mg or ranibizumab 0.5 mg, administered every 4 weeks for 3 total doses (Day 0, Week 4, and Week 8)”“a multicenter, randomized, masked, controlled study”“400 adult patients with nAMD”“every 4 weeks for 3 total doses (Day 0, Week 4, and Week 8)”Primary: “The primary efficacy endpoint was the mean change in baseline BCVA as measured by ETDRS score at Week 8 using a non-inferiority (NI) margin of -3.5 letters.”“At Week 8, the LYTENAVA group had a mean increase in BCVA of 3.3 compared to a mean increase of 4.5 in the ranibizumab group. The LS mean difference and 95% CI was -2.3 (-4.0, -0.5).”“NORSE EIGHT did not meet its pre-specified NI margin of -3.5 letters in mean change from baseline BCVA at Week 8 compared to ranibizumab.”“LYTENAVA showed an increase from baseline in BCVA at Week 12 consistent with NORSE TWO.”

Abbreviations: BCVA=best corrected visual acuity; CI=confidence interval; ETDRS=Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study; LS=least squares; nAMD=neovascular age-related macular degeneration; NI=non-inferiority

References