LUGANO
69 evidence topics · 21 sources
Objective
Program objective: similar vision with dosing every 6 months and lower treatment burden
Role in the planned New Drug Application
Location and study date
Summary: sites and timeline
The ClinicalTrials.gov record (last updated 2026-09-03) lists 76 locations, all in the United States, which is consistent with the 2025 Form 10-K description of LUGANO as the United States trial and LUCIA as the United States and ex-United States trial; the first-participant announcement and a 2025 congress poster described both trials as global. The first participant was dosed in October 2024 (registry study start 2024-10-22), enrollment was completed on May 27, 2025, the registry reports actual primary completion on 2026-07-13, and topline results were announced on August 17, 2026. Estimated study completion (week 96) is 2027-08.
Registry dates
| Milestone | Registry record |
|---|---|
| Study start (actual) | “2024-10-22” |
| Primary completion (actual) | “2026-07-13” |
| Study completion (estimated) | “2027-08” |
First participant dosed
Enrollment completion
Study design
Phase 3, randomized, double-masked, parallel-group, aflibercept-controlled design
Two identical non-inferiority trials with randomization on Day 1
Design elements agreed with FDA and EMA
Aflibercept loading, sham masking, and 24-month safety follow-up
Monthly monitoring with supplemental treatment in all arms
Independent Data Safety Monitoring Committee
Eligibility criteria
Key inclusion criteria
Geographic atrophy outside the center subfield was not excluded
Planned mix of treatment-naive and previously treated participants
Treatment
Registered arms
| Arm | Arm label | Intervention |
|---|---|---|
| Experimental | “EYP-1901 2686 µg” | “Intravitreal Injection” |
| Active comparator | “Aflibercept” | “Aflibercept (2.0 mg)” |
Dosing schedule: vorolanib insert every 6 months from week 8
Aflibercept loading doses before the first insert
Dosing visits reached during the trial
Supplemental aflibercept criteria: 2026 presentation
Supplemental aflibercept criteria: 2025 congress presentation
Study outcomes
Rationale for using mean change in best corrected visual acuity as the primary endpoint
Registered outcomes
| Outcome type | Measure | Time frame |
|---|---|---|
| Primary | “Average change in best corrected visual acuity (BCVA)” | “Weeks 52 and 56” |
| Secondary | “Rate of injection burden” | “Week 56” |
| Secondary | “Average change in best corrected visual acuity (BCVA)” | “Week 96” |
Primary endpoint and non-inferiority margin of 4.5 letters
Secondary endpoints
Precedent: 4.5-letter margin in the Archway port delivery system trial
Precedent: 4.5-letter margin described as based on FDA guidance for another sustained-release tyrosine kinase inhibitor
Precedent: 4-letter margins in phase 3 trials versus aflibercept 2 mg every 8 weeks
FDA framework for selecting a non-inferiority margin
Archway: justification for the 4.5-letter noninferiority and equivalence margins
TENAYA and LUCERNE: sample size, endpoint averaging, and choice of the every-8-week aflibercept comparator
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Planned enrollment
| Source field | Value |
|---|---|
| Registry enrollment (estimated) | “400” |
Participants analyzed
| Analysis | DURAVYU 2.7 mg | Aflibercept 2 mg |
|---|---|---|
| Baseline characteristics and efficacy | “DURAVYU 2.7mg (n=211)” | “Aflibercept 2mg q8W (n=216)” |
| Ocular adverse events | “DURAVYU 2.7mg (N=211)” | “Aflibercept 2mg (N=221)” |
Sample size calculation and power
No evidence found.
Description of analysis sets
Summary: analysis methods and populations reported
The topline presentations report the primary endpoint as a mixed model for repeated measures (MMRM) estimate of change from baseline blended across weeks 52 and 56, tested against a margin of -4.5 letters. Efficacy tables use 211 participants in the vorolanib insert arm and 216 in the aflibercept arm (427 of 432 randomized participants, 98.8%); the ocular adverse event table uses 211 and 221 participants (432 of 432). The definition of the efficacy population, the method for handling missing data, the confidence interval for the full-dataset treatment difference, and any multiplicity procedure for secondary endpoints were not reported. All p-values for the ad hoc analysis, the prespecified supplement-free subgroup analysis, and the treatment burden endpoint were labeled nominal. The September 2026 presentation added a median regression analysis and a randomization simulation labeled as new analyses. All results were labeled preliminary and pending final analysis.
Ad hoc analysis excluding the asymmetric cohort
Multiplicity control and handling of missing data
No evidence found.
Results
Participant disposition
Summary: disposition through week 56
Of 432 randomized participants, 211 in the vorolanib insert arm and 216 in the aflibercept arm were included in efficacy analyses, and 211 and 221 in the ocular adverse event table. Discontinuation through week 56 was 6% in each arm, and none was attributed to the vorolanib insert. Reading center assessments at week 56 included 193 and 197 participants for subretinal fibrosis and 168 per arm for fundus autofluorescence. A full CONSORT flow was not reported.
Participants with reading center assessments at week 56
Baseline characteristics
Demographics, treatment history, and ocular characteristics
| Characteristic | DURAVYU 2.7 mg (n=211) | Aflibercept 2 mg q8W (n=216) |
|---|---|---|
| Age, years, mean (SD) | “77.5 (7.52)” | “77.0 (7.61)” |
| Age 65 years or older, n (%) | “202 (95.7)” | “205 (94.9)” |
| Female, n (%) | “136 (64.5)” | “141 (65.3)” |
| Treatment naive, n (%) | “159 (75.4)” | “164 (75.9)” |
| Previously treated, n (%) | “52 (24.6)” | “52 (24.1)” |
| Annualized number of anti-VEGF injections for previously treated, mean (SD) | “7.35 (2.21)” | “7.39 (2.01)” |
| BCVA, ETDRS letters, mean (SD) | “65.8 (8.95)” | “64.3 (10.35)” |
| Better than 20/40 Snellen equivalent, n (%) | “82 (38.9)” | “79 (36.6)” |
| 20/40 Snellen equivalent or worse, n (%) | “129 (61.1)” | “137 (63.4)” |
| Central subfield thickness, µm, mean (SD) | “319.83 (71.429)” | “326.01 (71.906)” |
| Total CNV area by fluorescein angiography, mm2, mean (SD) | “5.69 (4.44)” | “4.60 (3.86)” |
| Medical history of dry AMD in study eye | “24.6%” | “21.7%” |
| Medical history of glaucoma in study eye | “11.4%” | “5.9%” |
Geographic atrophy at baseline
Efficacy results
Summary: primary and key secondary efficacy results
LUGANO did not meet its primary endpoint of non-inferiority (margin -4.5 letters) in mean BCVA change from baseline to weeks 52 and 56 in the full dataset; the numeric treatment difference and confidence interval for the full dataset were not reported in text. In the full dataset, the vorolanib insert arm showed a mean BCVA gain from baseline. Nine of 211 participants (4.3%) in the vorolanib insert arm and none of 216 in the aflibercept arm lost 15 or more letters from causes the company attributed to conditions other than wet AMD (geographic atrophy, 6; glaucoma, 2; retinal detachment, 1). In an ad hoc analysis excluding these 9 participants, least squares mean BCVA change was +3.5 letters with the vorolanib insert and +5.9 letters with aflibercept (difference -2.4 letters; nominal p=0.0096). In the September 2026 presentation, a median regression analysis of all participants with week 52 or week 56 BCVA gave a median difference of -1.4 letters, and random reassignment of the 16 participants with any loss of 15 or more letters gave modeled differences of -1.3 to -2.0 letters. The presentation chart shows 15-letter or greater loss in 7.5% of the vorolanib insert arm (4.5% attributed to non-wet AMD causes) and 0.5% of the aflibercept arm.
Mean injections after loading through week 56 were 3.1 with the vorolanib insert and 5.3 with aflibercept, a 42% reduction (nominal p<0.0001), with an average of 1.1 supplemental injections annualized in the vorolanib insert arm. Supplement-free rates in the vorolanib insert arm were 76% through week 32 and 54% through week 56. In the supplement-free subgroup (113 participants receiving the vorolanib insert, compared with 192 aflibercept participants shown in the chart legend), BCVA change was +4.7 versus +6.4 letters (difference -1.8; nominal p=0.0035). Mean central subfield thickness change at week 56 was -72 µm versus -76 µm (difference +4 µm).
Primary endpoint: full dataset
Primary endpoint: full-dataset treatment difference and confidence interval
No evidence found.
Asymmetric cohort with vision loss attributed to causes other than wet AMD
Ad hoc analysis excluding the asymmetric cohort
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Least squares mean BCVA change, DURAVYU 2.7 mg, excluding asymmetric cohort | “DURAVYU arm gained +3.5 letters” |
| Least squares mean BCVA change, aflibercept 2 mg | “+5.9” |
| Mean change in BCVA versus aflibercept | “-2.4” |
| p-value | “(nominal non-inferiority p=0.0096)” |
Sensitivity analyses reported in September 2026
Loss of 15 or more letters in the aflibercept arm compared with prior trials
| Trial | Aflibercept 2 mg every 8 weeks, N | Timepoint | Participants with loss of 15 or more letters |
|---|---|---|---|
| VIEW 1 | “301” | “Week 52” | “4.9%a” |
| VIEW 2 | “306” | “Week 52” | “4.4%a” |
| HAWK | “360” | “Week 48” | “5.5%b” |
| HARRIER | “369” | “Week 48” | “4.8%b” |
| TENAYA | “300” | “Week 40-48, avg” | “5.9%c” |
| LUCERNE | “291” | “Week 40-48, avg” | “2.7%d” |
| PULSAR | “335” | “Week 48” | “3.3%e” |
| DAVIO 2 | “54” | “Week 56” | “7.7%f” |
| LUGANO | “216” | “Week 52/56, avg” | “0.5%f” |
Supplement-free rates in the vorolanib insert arm
| Measure | Up to week 32 | Up to week 56 |
|---|---|---|
| Supplement-free patients | “76% of DURAVYU patients were supplement-free up to Week 32” | “54% of DURAVYU patients were supplement-free up to Week 56” |
| Zero or one supplement | “94 % of DURAVYU patients received zero or one supplement up to Week 32” | “79% of DURAVYU patients received zero or one supplement up to Week 56” |
Supplement-free subgroup: visual acuity and central subfield thickness
Response to supplemental aflibercept
Anatomic outcomes: central subfield thickness
Anatomic outcomes: subretinal fibrosis
| Measure | DURAVYU 2.7 mg | Aflibercept 2 mg |
|---|---|---|
| Subretinal fibrosis present, baseline | “2.8% (6 of 211)” | “1.4% (3 of 216)” |
| Subretinal fibrosis present, week 56 | “4.1% (8 of 193)” | “4.1% (8 of 197)” |
| Progression of fibrosis from baseline | “+ 46%” | “+ 193%” |
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
No evidence found.
Safety results
Summary: ocular safety through week 56
Through week 56, the vorolanib insert arm (211 participants) and aflibercept arm (221 participants) had cataract in 4.3% and 5.4%, increased intraocular pressure in 3.8% and 3.2%, intraocular inflammation in 0.5% and 0.5%, and retinal detachment in 0.5% and 0.5% of participants. Ocular adverse events reported more often with the vorolanib insert included conjunctival hemorrhage (11.4% versus 5.0%), vitreous floaters (9.0% versus 3.6%), neovascular AMD (7.1% versus 1.4%), retinal hemorrhage (4.7% versus 1.8%), retinal edema (2.8% versus 0.9%), and visual impairment (2.4% versus 0.0%). No insert migration into the anterior chamber, anterior chamber opacities, free-floating particles, retinal vasculitis, or severe intraocular inflammation were reported. Serious adverse events, systemic adverse events, and endophthalmitis counts were not reported numerically; endophthalmitis was reported at less than 1% in both arms.
Adverse events of particular interest and events not observed
Ocular adverse events in the study eye occurring in 2% or more of participants through week 56
| Adverse event | DURAVYU 2.7 mg (n=211) | Aflibercept 2 mg (n=221) |
|---|---|---|
| Conjunctival haemorrhage | “11.4%” | “5.0%” |
| Vitreous floaters | “9.0%” | “3.6%” |
| Neovascular age-related macular degeneration | “7.1%” | “1.4%” |
| Retinal haemorrhage | “4.7%” | “1.8%” |
| Vitreous detachment | “4.7%” | “4.1%” |
| Cataract | “4.3%” | “5.4%” |
| Dry eye | “4.3%” | “6.3%” |
| Posterior capsule opacification | “4.3%” | “2.3%” |
| Intraocular pressure increased | “3.8%” | “3.2%” |
| Visual acuity reduced | “3.8%” | “5.4%” |
| Retinal oedema | “2.8%” | “0.9%” |
| Visual impairment | “2.4%” | “0.0%” |
| Dry age-related macular degeneration | “2.4%” | “3.2%” |
| Eye pain | “2.4%” | “0.9%” |
| Subretinal fluid | “2.4%” | “1.4%” |
Selected ocular adverse events including geographic atrophy
| Adverse event | DURAVYU 2.7 mg (N=211) | Aflibercept 2 mg (N=221) |
|---|---|---|
| Intraocular inflammation (IOI) | “0.5%” | “0.5%” |
| Geographic atrophy (lower-level term) | “2.4%” | “2.7%” |
| Retinal detachment | “0.5%” | “0.5%” |
| Vision loss in participant with retinal detachment | “-40 letters” | “+1 letter” |
Geographic atrophy onset and growth by reading center
Serious and systemic adverse events
No evidence found.
Study limitations
Summary
- The primary endpoint was not met in the full dataset. Non-inferiority was shown only in an ad hoc analysis that removed 9 of 211 participants (4.3%) in the vorolanib insert arm whose loss of 15 or more letters was attributed by retina specialists to causes other than wet AMD; the same attribution identified 0 of 216 aflibercept participants, and p-values for this and all secondary analyses are nominal.
- The full-dataset treatment difference and its confidence interval, the multiplicity procedure, missing data handling, and the efficacy population definition have not been reported; results are topline, labeled preliminary and pending final analysis, and were not peer reviewed as of September 2026.
- The aflibercept arm had a 0.5% rate of 15-letter or greater loss, lower than the 2.7% to 7.7% rates the sponsor cited from earlier trials, while the vorolanib insert arm had 7.5%. The sponsor attributes the imbalance to chance and to baseline differences; this cannot be confirmed from one trial, and the LUCIA results will be the direct test.
- Baseline imbalances favored the aflibercept arm on some risk factors for vision loss unrelated to neovascular activity: glaucoma history 11.4% versus 5.9%, total CNV area 5.69 versus 4.60 mm2, and geographic atrophy located closer to the fovea (825 versus 1009 µm); eligibility excluded only center-subfield atrophy.
- Vorolanib insert participants received three aflibercept loading doses before the first insert, supplemental aflibercept was available in both arms, and the supplement criteria wording differs between 2025 and 2026 company presentations; the efficacy therefore reflects a regimen of aflibercept loading plus insert plus supplemental aflibercept, not insert monotherapy.
- The comparator was fixed aflibercept 2 mg every 8 weeks, not treat-and-extend dosing, faricimab, or aflibercept 8 mg, and all 76 registry sites were in the United States.
- Efficacy is reported to week 56 only; year 2 is a safety-only continuation, no patient-reported outcome or quality-of-life data have been reported, and systemic and serious adverse event data are not yet public.
- Treatment burden was compared with a fixed aflibercept schedule that allows a maximum 60% reduction, so the 42% reduction measures scheduled injection frequency rather than burden relative to extended-interval regimens.