IB1001-303
126 evidence topics · 29 sources
Objective
Purpose and primary objective in the trial protocol
Secondary and exploratory objectives in the trial protocol
Symptomatic parent study and long-term extension phase
Location and study date
Participating centers named in the publication
Study locations in the registry record
Study dates in the registry record
| Field | Registry value |
|---|---|
| Study start (actual) | “2025-03-18” |
| Primary completion (estimated) | “2027-12-31” |
| Study completion (estimated) | “2028-06-01” |
| First posted | “2024-11-04” |
| Last update posted | “2025-07-03” |
European Union trial start and recruitment start by member state
| Member state | Decision date | Trial start date | Recruitment start date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Germany | “25/03/2025” | “13/05/2025” | “13/05/2025” |
| Spain | “25/03/2025” | “13/05/2025” | “29/05/2025” |
| Slovakia | “26/03/2025” | “13/05/2025” | “19/05/2025” |
Planned number of centers and participants traveling from other countries
Study design
Prescribing information: randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, two-period crossover design
Randomization method
Masking
Immediate crossover without a washout period: rationale in the trial protocol
Screening pathways for participants with and without recent use of prohibited medications
Open-label extension phase
Data monitoring and availability of the protocol and statistical analysis plan
Funding and role of the sponsor
Master protocol published for the Niemann-Pick disease type C trial: rationale for the crossover design
Eligibility criteria
Prescribing information: age, diagnosis, and ataxia at baseline
Key inclusion criteria: genetic confirmation, ataxia severity, and body weight
Inclusion criteria: stable background medications and therapies
Inclusion criteria: contraception
Exclusion criteria
Exclusion criteria: washout of prohibited medications
Exclusion criteria: prohibited medications at European Union sites
Treatment
Prescribing information: dosage and duration in Trial 2
Weight-tiered dosing in the trial protocol
Dose per kilogram for participants weighing less than 35 kg
Formulation and preparation
Matching placebo
Concomitant medications and therapies
Study outcomes
Rationale for using the scale for the assessment and rating of ataxia as the primary endpoint
Primary endpoint defined in the trial protocol
Primary outcome measure in the registry record
SARA items, score range, and meaningful change as described by the investigators
SARA development and validation in spinocerebellar ataxia
SARA reliability and validity in ataxias other than spinocerebellar ataxia
SARA in children: age dependency of scores and of interobserver agreement
SARA in ataxia-telangiectasia: recommendation of a rating-scale review panel
SARA in ataxia-telangiectasia: validation status and correlation with a disease-specific scale in adults
SARA in ataxia-telangiectasia: annual progression in adults
Minimal clinically important difference of the SARA: thresholds cited by the investigators
Minimal clinically important difference of the SARA: 1-point threshold derived from levacetylleucine trials in lysosomal storage disorders
Minimal clinically important difference of the SARA: 1.5-point threshold in cerebellar ataxias
Responsiveness of the SARA over one year in spinocerebellar ataxia
Functional SARA: definition in the prescribing information
Functional SARA: key secondary endpoint for the United States in the trial protocol
Functional SARA: inclusion at FDA request as described by the investigators
Functional SARA: FDA rationale for domain selection and rescoring in the Niemann-Pick disease type C review
Functional SARA: FDA-recommended rescoring of the four SARA domains
Functional SARA: FDA interpretation of a 1-point change and correlation with the SARA in the Niemann-Pick disease type C trial
Functional SARA: origin and content validity in spinocerebellar ataxia
Functional SARA: psychometric properties and meaningful change threshold in spinocerebellar ataxia
SARA and fSARA treatment differences in the Niemann-Pick disease type C trial of levacetylleucine
Interpretability of the SARA in young children: FDA position and protocol subgroup analysis
Secondary and exploratory endpoints listed in the trial protocol
ICARS and NeuroQOL-UEF designations changed in the statistical analysis plan
International Cooperative Ataxia Rating Scale
Spinocerebellar Ataxia Functional Index
Clinical Global Impression scales
Quality-of-life instruments and exit interviews
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Sample size calculation in the trial protocol
Estimated enrollment in the registry record
| Field | Registry value |
|---|---|
| Enrollment (estimated) | “60” |
Participants screened, randomized, and analyzed
Description of analysis sets
Analysis populations
Primary analysis model in the statistical analysis plan
Primary estimand and intercurrent events
Handling of missing data
Significance level and multiplicity
Analysis of secondary endpoints
Prespecified subgroups and interim analysis
“Naïve versus non-naïve as determined at screening” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)
“Age (pediatric versus adult)” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)
“Gender (male versus female)” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)
“Region (US versus rest of world)” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)
“There is no interim analysis planned.” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)
Results
Participant disposition
Screening, randomization, and inclusion in the analysis
Prescribing information: completion and missing assessments
Congress abstract submitted before data availability: number randomized
Congress results abstract: number enrolled
Baseline characteristics
Prescribing information: age, sex, and race
Demographics and baseline characteristics by treatment sequence
| Characteristic | Total, n = 73 | Levacetylleucine to placebo, n = 36 | Placebo to levacetylleucine, n = 37 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pediatric, younger than 18 years | “47 (64%)” | “23 (64%)” | “24 (65%)” |
| Adult, 18 years or older | “26 (36%)” | “13 (36%)” | “13 (35%)” |
| Female | “38 (52%)” | “17 (47%)” | “21 (57%)” |
| Male | “35 (48%)” | “19 (53%)” | “16 (43%)” |
| Hispanic or Latino | “4 (5%)” | “2 (6%)” | “2 (5%)” |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | “51 (70%)” | “26 (72%)” | “25 (68%)” |
| Ethnicity not reported | “3 (4%)” | “2 (6%)” | “1 (3%)” |
| Ethnicity unknown | “15 (21%)” | “6 (17%)” | “9 (24%)” |
| Asian | “4 (5%)” | “2 (6%)” | “2 (5%)” |
| Black or African American | “0” | “0” | “0” |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander | “1 (1%)” | “1 (3%)” | “0” |
| White | “55 (75%)” | “28 (78%)” | “27 (73%)” |
| Race not reported | “9 (12%)” | “3 (8%)” | “6 (16%)” |
| Other race | “4 (5%)” | “2 (6%)” | “2 (5%)” |
| Age at diagnosis: early-infantile, younger than 2 years | “51 (70%)” | “24 (67%)” | “27 (73%)” |
| Age at diagnosis: late-infantile, 2 to younger than 6 years | “16 (22%)” | “8 (22%)” | “8 (22%)” |
| Age at diagnosis: juvenile, 6 to younger than 15 years | “3 (4%)” | “2 (6%)” | “1 (3%)” |
| Age at diagnosis: adolescent or adult, 15 years or older | “3 (4%)” | “2 (6%)” | “1 (3%)” |
| Weight 15 to less than 25 kg, 2 g per day | “18 (25%)” | “8 (22%)” | “10 (27%)” |
| Weight 25 to less than 35 kg, 3 g per day | “17 (23%)” | “9 (25%)” | “8 (22%)” |
| Weight 35 kg or more, 4 g per day | “38 (52%)” | “19 (53%)” | “19 (51%)” |
Baseline scores on the efficacy and quality-of-life measures
| Measure | Baseline before levacetylleucine, mean (SD); n | Baseline before placebo, mean (SD); n |
|---|---|---|
| SARA | “19·81 (6·43); n=71” | “19·87 (6·41); n=72” |
| FDA functional SARA | “7·83 (2·60); n=71” | “7·86 (2·60); n=72” |
| SCAFI | “−0·50 (0·99); n=71” | “−0·50 (0·98); n=72” |
| ICARS | “51·20 (17·05); n=70” | “51·54 (16·97); n=72” |
| EQ-Visual Analogue Scale | “74·2 (21·3); n=71” | “74·5 (21·4); n=72” |
| Pediatric NeuroQuality of Life Upper Extremity Function | “60·5 (28·0); n=25” | “59·7 (27·8); n=26” |
| Adult NeuroQuality of Life Upper Extremity Function | “57·1 (20·4); n=15” | “57·1 (20·4); n=15” |
Representativeness of the trial population
Efficacy results
Primary endpoint: fSARA total score, prescribing information
fSARA total score by period and treatment sequence, prescribing information
| Variable | Treatment Sequence 1: AQNEURSA then placebo | Treatment Sequence 2: placebo then AQNEURSA |
|---|---|---|
| Baseline, participants | “N=36” | “N=37” |
| Baseline, mean (SD) | “7.3 (2.6)” | “8.5 (2.5)” |
| Period I, participants | “N=34” | “N=37” |
| Period I, mean (SD) | “6.6 (2.8)” | “8.5 (2.6)” |
| Period II, participants | “N=35” | “N=35” |
| Period II, mean (SD) | “7.0 (3.1)” | “7.8 (2.7)” |
Least squares mean fSARA score by treatment, prescribing information
| Treatment | Least squares mean fSARA score (SE) |
|---|---|
| AQNEURSA | “7.2 (0.1)” |
| Placebo | “7.8 (0.1)” |
| Treatment difference (95% CI) | “-0.6 (-0.9, -0.2)” |
Change in fSARA score by period within each treatment sequence, prescribing information
Primary endpoint: SARA total score, peer-reviewed publication
Primary and secondary efficacy endpoints at end of treatment, peer-reviewed publication
| Endpoint | End of treatment, levacetylleucine, mean (SD); n | End of treatment, placebo, mean (SD); n | Mean change from baseline, levacetylleucine (SD) | Mean change from baseline, placebo (SD) | Linear mixed model treatment effect (95% CI) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SARA (primary) | “17·96 (7·30); n=69” | “19·73 (7·39); n=72” | “−1·92 (2·81)” | “−0·14 (2·38)” | “−1·88 (−2·70 to −1·06)” |
| FDA functional SARA | “7·20 (2·83); n=69” | “7·76 (2·96); n=72” | “−0·65 (1·16)” | “−0·10 (1·02)” | “−0·57 (−0·92 to −0·23)” |
| SCAFI | “−0·41 (1·06); n=70” | “−0·45 (1·05); n=72” | “0·06 (0·28)” | “0·04 (0·24)” | “0·01 (−0·06 to 0·07)” |
| ICARS | “47·30 (18·67); n=69” | “49·85 (19·10); n=72” | “−4·22 (7·77)” | “−1·69 (6·09)” | “−2·84 (−4·87 to −0·81)” |
| Investigator's Clinical Global Impression of Improvement | “3·4 (0·8); n=35” | “3·8 (0·6); n=37” | “−0·6 (0·8)” | “−0·2 (0·6)” | “−0·4 (−0·7 to −0·02)” |
SARA change by period: placebo in period 1 and placebo after levacetylleucine in period 2
Secondary endpoints: fSARA, investigator CGI-I, ICARS, and SCAFI, peer-reviewed publication
Comparison of the observed effect with reported thresholds, as stated by the investigators
Primary endpoint: SARA total score, company-reported topline results
Secondary endpoints: ICARS and investigator CGI-I, company-reported topline results
SARA and fSARA treatment differences, company-reported at FDA approval
Primary and secondary endpoints, congress results abstract
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
Patient-reported, caregiver-reported, and quality-of-life endpoints at end of treatment
| Endpoint | End of treatment, levacetylleucine, mean (SD); n | End of treatment, placebo, mean (SD); n | Mean change from baseline, levacetylleucine (SD) | Mean change from baseline, placebo (SD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Caregiver Clinical Global Impression of Improvement | “3·8 (0·8); n=30” | “3·8 (0·8); n=36” | “−0·2 (0·8)” | “−0·2 (0·8)” |
| Patient Clinical Global Impression of Improvement | “3·5 (1·0); n=31” | “3·6 (0·9); n=33” | “−0·5 (1·0)” | “−0·4 (0·9)” |
| EQ-Visual Analogue Scale | “75·8 (20·5); n=70” | “74·0 (22·5); n=71” | “1·3 (15·5)” | “−0·3 (19·2)” |
| Pediatric NeuroQuality of Life Upper Extremity Function | “52·6 (27·2); n=25” | “54·9 (25·3); n=25” | “−4·9 (11·9)” | “−6·2 (14·6)” |
| Adult NeuroQuality of Life Upper Extremity Function | “57·4 (18·2); n=15” | “57·2 (19·5); n=15” | “−0·4 (10·8)” | “−0·9 (9·4)” |
EQ-5D-5L in adults and EQ-5D-Y in participants younger than 18 years
Exit interviews: improvements reported by participants and caregivers
Safety results
Prescribing information: thrombocytopenia in one participant during Trial 2
Treatment-emergent adverse events, serious adverse events, and deaths
Discontinuations and events assessed as related to levacetylleucine
Treatment-emergent adverse events by system organ class
| System organ class | Levacetylleucine, n = 73, n (%) | Levacetylleucine, events | Placebo, n = 72, n (%) | Placebo, events | Total, n = 73, n (%) | Total, events |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Any treatment emergent adverse event | “29 (40%)” | “54” | “25 (35%)” | “75” | “37 (51%)” | “129” |
| Infections and infestations | “15 (21%)” | “17” | “13 (18%)” | “15” | “22 (30%)” | “32” |
| Gastrointestinal disorders | “5 (7%)” | “6” | “10 (14%)” | “21” | “12 (16%)” | “27” |
| Injury, poisoning, and procedural complications | “7 (10%)” | “9” | “5 (7%)” | “7” | “10 (14%)” | “16” |
| Respiratory, thoracic, and mediastinal disorders | “6 (8%)” | “7” | “5 (7%)” | “8” | “8 (11%)” | “15” |
| General disorders and administration site conditions | “3 (4%)” | “4” | “3 (4%)” | “3” | “5 (7%)” | “7” |
| Nervous system disorders | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “3 (4%)” | “4” | “5 (7%)” | “6” |
| Skin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | “3 (4%)” | “3” | “2 (3%)” | “3” | “5 (7%)” | “6” |
| Psychiatric disorders | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “2 (3%)” | “3” | “3 (4%)” | “4” |
| Renal and urinary disorders | “0” | “0” | “3 (4%)” | “3” | “3 (4%)” | “3” |
| Eye disorders | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “2 (3%)” | “3” |
| Blood and lymphatic system disorders | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “2 (3%)” | “2” |
| Investigations | “0” | “0” | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “2 (3%)” | “2” |
| Metabolism and nutrition disorders | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “2 (3%)” | “2” |
| Musculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | “0” | “0” | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “2 (3%)” | “2” |
| Hepatobiliary disorders | “0” | “0” | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “1 (1%)” | “1” |
| Neoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (including cysts and polyps) | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “0” | “0” | “1 (1%)” | “1” |
Treatment-emergent adverse events reported in two or more participants during either treatment
| Preferred term | Levacetylleucine, n = 73, n (%) | Levacetylleucine, events | Placebo, n = 72, n (%) | Placebo, events | Total, n = 73, n (%) | Total, events |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cough | “6 (8%)” | “7” | “2 (3%)” | “3” | “6 (8%)” | “10” |
| Upper respiratory tract infection | “3 (4%)” | “3” | “3 (4%)” | “3” | “6 (8%)” | “6” |
| Fall | “3 (4%)” | “3” | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “5 (7%)” | “5” |
| Pyrexia | “3 (4%)” | “4” | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “5 (7%)” | “6” |
| Diarrhoea | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “4 (6%)” | “4” | “5 (7%)” | “6” |
| Vomiting | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “4 (6%)” | “7” | “5 (7%)” | “8” |
| Urinary tract infection | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “3 (4%)” | “4” |
| Abdominal pain | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “3 (4%)” | “3” | “3 (4%)” | “4” |
| Lower respiratory tract infection | “2 (3%)” | “3” | “0” | “0” | “2 (3%)” | “3” |
| Respiratory tract infection | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “0” | “0” | “2 (3%)” | “2” |
| Skin laceration | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “1 (1%)” | “1” | “2 (3%)” | “3” |
| Thermal burn | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “0” | “0” | “2 (3%)” | “2” |
| Headache | “0” | “0” | “2 (3%)” | “2” | “2 (3%)” | “2” |
Laboratory tests, vital signs, and electrocardiograms
FDA summary of adverse reactions in ataxia-telangiectasia
Safety, company-reported at FDA approval
Study limitations
Summary
IB1001-303 randomized 73 participants at ten centers to a two-period crossover with 12 weeks of each treatment and an immediate crossover, with no washout between periods. The protocol chose an analysis that does not require a washout, and the publication describes the placebo period that followed levacetylleucine as having effectively served as a washout. The publication and the prescribing information report no result of a test for carryover or sequence effects. In the prescribing information, mean baseline fSARA was 7.3 in the sequence that started with levacetylleucine and 8.5 in the sequence that started with placebo.
The endpoint reported differs by source. The protocol names the 40-point SARA as the primary endpoint in all jurisdictions besides the United States and the 16-point functional SARA (fSARA) as a key secondary endpoint for the United States. The publication reports a SARA treatment effect of -1.88 points (95% CI -2.70 to -1.06), with mean changes of -1.92 on levacetylleucine and -0.14 on placebo. The prescribing information reports an fSARA treatment difference of -0.6 (95% CI -0.9 to -0.2; two-sided p = 0.0013) and gives no numerical SARA result. The fSARA p value is 0.001 in the publication, and the company's approval release gives a two-sided p value below 0.001.
The sample size calculation used a one-sided significance level of 5% and assumed a 1.0-point SARA difference, a threshold taken from an analysis of the sponsor's trials in lysosomal storage disorders; an independent estimate of the SARA minimal clinically important difference is 1.5 points. No adjustment for multiple comparisons was applied, and the statistical analysis plan classes every evaluation other than the primary endpoint as exploratory. The statistical analysis plan specifies descriptive summaries for the ICARS, and the publication reports a model-based ICARS treatment effect with a p value. Success of masking was not assessed. The SARA has not been validated specifically in ataxia-telangiectasia, and pediatric SARA scores are age-dependent; 47 of 73 participants (64%) were younger than 18 years.
The controlled comparison lasted 12 weeks per treatment, 55 of 73 participants (75%) were White, and eligibility required an age of 4 years or older and a SARA score of 7 to 34. Long-term efficacy and safety data depend on the open-label extension phase, which was ongoing at publication. The results were published in a peer-reviewed journal in July 2026; the trial was funded by IntraBio, and the publication acknowledges an IntraBio employee for writing and editorial assistance. The ClinicalTrials.gov record lists an estimated enrollment of 60, was last updated in July 2025, and carries no posted results. One congress abstract, submitted before data were available, states that 74 participants were randomized, and the congress results abstract states that no serious adverse events occurred, whereas the publication reports 73 randomized participants and three withdrawals associated with serious adverse events judged unrelated to treatment.