Evicenter
P&T meetings

Juvmo (tavapadon)

Parkinson's disease

Also known as CVL-751
Manufacturer
AbbVie
Regulatory submission
NDA submitted September 2025
Last updated
217 sources

Clinical evidence

TEMPO-2

91 evidence topics · 15 sources

Objective
Location and study date
Summary: sites, countries, and study period

The primary publication reports that TEMPO-2 was conducted at 75 clinical sites, in hospital or academic and community settings, across 13 countries, and that participants were screened and randomized between January 6, 2020 and February 22, 2024. The registry record for NCT04223193 lists 53 locations in 13 countries (the United States, Italy, Poland, Germany, France, Hungary, South Korea, Thailand, Ukraine, Spain, Taiwan, Australia, and Serbia), 18 of them in the United States. The registry gives an actual study start date of January 6, 2020 and actual primary completion and study completion dates of October 1, 2024. The protocol identifier is CVL-751-PD-002 and the EudraCT number is 2019-002950-22. The protocol names Cerevel Therapeutics as sponsor; the registry now lists AbbVie.

Registry dates and location count
FieldQuoted record
Study start (actual)“2020-01-06”
Primary completion (actual)“2024-10-01”
Study completion (actual)“2024-10-01”
Enrollment (actual)“304”
Locations“This study has 53 locations”
Other study identifiers“CVL-751-PD-002”
Study design
Eligibility criteria
Treatment
Study outcomes
Rationale for using MDS-UPDRS parts II and III combined score as the primary endpoint
Other secondary, exploratory, and safety endpoints

“Other secondary efficacy endpoints were assessed at several pre-defined time points from baseline to the end of the study (week 27) and included change from baseline in the MDS-UPDRS Parts II and III combined score at additional timepoints beyond the primary efficacy endpoint; changes from baseline in MDS-UPDRS Parts I, II, and III combined and individual scores; and change from baseline in the Clinician Global Impression–Severity of Illness (CGI-S), Clinician Global Impression–Improvement (CGI-I), and PGIC scores. Other endpoints included change from baseline in scores on the 39-Item Parkinson’s Disease Questionnaire (PDQ-39), Schwab and England Activities of Daily Living (ADL) scale, and the EuroQol 5-Dimension 5-Level (EQ-5D-5L) index and visual analogue scale (VAS). The post-baseline assessments for CGI-S, CGI-I, PGIC, and ADL were conducted at weeks 5, 8, 11, 14, 18, 22, 26, and 27. PDQ-39 and EQ-5D-5L were assessed at weeks 26 and 27; EQ-5D-5L was also assessed at week 14.” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)

“Safety endpoints included adverse events, clinical laboratory values, vital signs, and electrocardiograms. Scores on the Columbia–Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS), Epworth Sleepiness Scale (ESS), and the Questionnaire for Impulsive-Compulsive Disorders in Parkinson’s Disease Rating Scale (QUIP-RS) were assessed at each visit (weeks 2, 5, 8, 11, 14, 18, 22, 26, and 27; C-SSRS was also assessed at week 29). The Study Medication Withdrawal Questionnaire (SMWQ) was administered during the withdrawal assessment period (weeks 27–29).” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)

Minimal clinically important difference for the Parts II and III combined score

“Because of the presence of a major neurocognitive disorder, the data of 49 patients were excluded; therefore, the data of 452 patients with 1,113 sequenced examinations were analyzed.” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)

“Any improvement greater than 4.9 points or any worsening more than 4.2 points on MDS-UPDRS II+III represent a minimal, yet clinically meaningful, change.” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)

“should apply the threshold of –4.9 and +4.2 points for revealing improvement or deterioration.” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)

“Hauser and colleagues estimated the MCID thresholds for UPDRS 2 + 3 as being – 8.0 and –8.1 points in early PD and –7.1 and -8.8 points for advanced PD.” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)

“Of note, our thresholds are considerably smaller, which may be partly explained by the different structures of these scales.” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)

“Although our data support the concept of the usage of various composite scores, we also have to mention that the MCID thresholds for the individual MDS-UPDRS Parts have generally better discriminative abilities than those of the composite scores. Therefore, the analysis of the changes in the individual subscales is advised cardinally unless the clinical situation or the study aims require the utilization of the composite scores.” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)

Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Participants analyzed in the registry results
AnalysisPlaceboTavapadon
Primary endpoint at week 26, participants analyzed“133”“99”
MDS-UPDRS Part II at week 26, participants analyzed“134”“99”
Safety (full analysis set), participants analyzed“153”“151”
Description of analysis sets
Results
Participant disposition
Screening and randomization
Screening outcomeParticipants
Assessed for eligibility“473”
Excluded“169”
Did not meet inclusion or exclusion criteria“140”
Withdrew“13”
Lost to follow-up“3”
Did not meet continuation criteria“1”
Other reasons“12”
Randomized“304”
Trial profile by treatment group
Milestone or reasonPlaceboTavapadon 5 to 15 mg
Assigned“153”“151”
Received ≥1 dose as randomized“153”“151”
Prematurely discontinued study“23”“57”
Adverse events“6”“36”
Withdrew“5”“6”
Site terminated by sponsor“1”“3”
Lack of efficacy“2”“2”
Lost to follow-up“1”“1”
Protocol deviation“1”“1”
Physician decisionNot reported“1”
Non-adherence to study drugNot reported“1”
Use of prohibited concomitant medication“3”Not reported
Did not meet continuation criteria“1”Not reported
Other reasons“3”“6”
Completed study“130”“94”
Included in efficacy analysis (mITT)“151”“150”
Included in safety analysis set“153”“151”
Registry participant flow
Milestone or reasonPlaceboTavapadon
Started“153”“151”
Completed“130”“94”
Not completed“23”“57”
Adverse event“6”“36”
Lack of efficacy“2”“2”
Lost to follow-up“1”“1”
Treatment with prohibited concomitant medications“3”“0”
Site terminated by sponsor“1”“3”
Withdrawal by subject“5”“6”
Other“3”“6”
Baseline characteristics
Baseline characteristics by treatment group
CharacteristicPlacebo (n = 153)Tavapadon 5 to 15 mg (n = 151)Overall (N = 304)
Age, mean (SD), years“62·6 (9·4)”“63·1 (9·0)”“62·9 (9·2)”
Age <65 years, n (%)“82 (54%)”“77 (51%)”“159 (52%)”
Age ≥65 years, n (%)“71 (46%)”“74 (49%)”“145 (48%)”
Age ≥75 years, n (%)“16 (10%)”“12 (8%)”“28 (9%)”
Male, n (%)“85 (56%)”“84 (56%)”“169 (56%)”
Female, n (%)“68 (44%)”“67 (44%)”“135 (44%)”
American Indian or Alaska Native, n (%)“1 (1%)”“0”“1 (<1%)”
Asian, n (%)“15 (10%)”“17 (11%)”“32 (11%)”
Black, n (%)“2 (1%)”“0”“2 (1%)”
White, n (%)“134 (88%)”“134 (89%)”“268 (88%)”
Other race, n (%)“1 (1%)”“0”“1 (<1%)”
BMI, mean (SD), kg/m²“27·0 (4·6)”“26·6 (4·0)”“26·8 (4·3)”
Years since initial diagnosis, mean (SD)“0·85 (0·81)”“0·88 (0·78)”“0·86 (0·79)”
Disease duration <1 year, n (%)“100 (65%)”“100 (66%)”“200 (66%)”
Disease duration 1 to <2 years, n (%)“36 (24%)”“31 (21%)”“67 (22%)”
Disease duration 2 to <3 years, n (%)“16 (10%)”“20 (13%)”“36 (12%)”
Modified Hoehn and Yahr stage 1, n (%)“35 (23%)”“38 (25%)”“73 (24%)”
Modified Hoehn and Yahr stage 1.5, n (%)“22 (14%)”“24 (16%)”“46 (15%)”
Modified Hoehn and Yahr stage 2, n (%)“96 (63%)”“89 (59%)”“185 (61%)”
MDS-UPDRS Part I, mean (SD)“4·6 (4·0)”“5·3 (3·9)”“5·0 (4·0)”
MDS-UPDRS Part II, mean (SD)“6·9 (3·9)”“7·4 (4·3)”“7·1 (4·1)”
MDS-UPDRS Part III, mean (SD)“23·1 (8·9)”“23·6 (8·8)”“23·4 (8·8)”
MDS-UPDRS Parts II and III, mean (SD)“30 (11·1)”“31·1 (11·2)”“30·5 (11·2)”
MDS-UPDRS Parts I, II, and III, mean (SD)“34·6 (13·1)”“36·4 (13·3)”“35·5 (13·2)”
MAO-B inhibitor use, n (%)“45 (29%)”“46 (30%)”“91 (30%)”
No MAO-B inhibitor use, n (%)“108 (71%)”“105 (70%)”“213 (70%)”
Baseline characteristics by treatment group in the registry
CharacteristicPlacebo (n = 153)Tavapadon (n = 151)Total (N = 304)
Age, mean (SD), years“62.6 (9.43)”“63.1 (8.98)”“62.9 (9.20)”
Female, count (%)“68”( “44.4%”)“67”( “44.4%”)“135”( “44.4%”)
Male, count (%)“85”( “55.6%”)“84”( “55.6%”)“169”( “55.6%”)
Hispanic or Latino, count (%)“11”( “7.2%”)“5”( “3.3%”)“16”( “5.3%”)
Asian, count (%)“15”( “9.8%”)“17”( “11.3%”)“32”( “10.5%”)
Black or African American, count (%)“2”( “1.3%”)“0”( “0.0%”)“2”( “0.7%”)
White, count (%)“134”( “87.6%”)“134”( “88.7%”)“268”( “88.2%”)
MDS-UPDRS Parts II and III combined, mean (SD)“30.0 (11.11)”“31.1 (11.21)”“30.5 (11.16)”
Efficacy results
Onset of effect, multiplicity, and subgroup consistency

“Nominal improvements in MDS-UPDRS Parts II and III combined scores in tavapadon-treated versus placebo-treated participants were observed as early as week 5 and continued through the end of treatment (nominal p<0·0001; figure 3A).” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)

“Initial improvements in the MDS-UPDRS Parts II and III combined scores were observed as early as week 5 during titration, with increasing separation from the placebo group continuing through approximately week 14; improvements versus placebo were then sustained through week 27. Improvements in MDS-UPDRS Part II scores and the proportion of PGIC responders in the tavapadon group relative to placebo were also first observed starting at week 8. Together, these early efficacy improvements suggest that tavapadon might provide benefit even with the lower doses received during initial titration.” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)

“Nominal p values without multiplicity adjustment except for primary timepoint.” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)

“The effect of tavapadon versus placebo on MDS-UPDRS Parts II and III combined scores was consistent at week 26 across subgroups by age (<65 years vs ≥65 years), sex, mH&Y staging at screening, baseline MDS-UPDRS Part II and III individual scores, concomitant use of an MAO-B inhibitor, disease duration (<1 year, 1 year to <2 years), and geographical region (appendix p 5).” (opens the source at this quote in a new tab)

Registry results for the primary and key secondary endpoints
Outcome at week 26PlaceboTavapadon
MDS-UPDRS Parts II and III, LSM change (SE)“-1.2 (0.89)”“-10.3 (0.99)”
MDS-UPDRS Part II, LSM change (SE)“0.0 (0.30)”“-1.5 (0.33)”
PGIC much or very much improved, participants analyzed“134”“99”
PGIC much or very much improved, count (%)“25”( “18.7%”)“46”( “46.5%”)
Change in MDS-UPDRS Part II in the prescribing information
MDS-UPDRS Part IIJuvmo (N = 150)Placebo (N = 151)
Baseline (SD)“7.4 (4.32)”“6.8 (3.86)”
LS mean change (SE) from baseline to week 26“-1.5 (0.33)”“0.0 (0.30)”
LSMD vs placebo (95% CI)“-1.5 (-2.4, -0.6)”Not applicable
p-value“0.0007”Not applicable
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes
Safety results
Summary of adverse events in the safety analysis set
Adverse event, n (%)Placebo (n = 153)Tavapadon 5 to 15 mg (n = 151)
Any adverse event“84 (55%)”“115 (76%)”
Mild“45 (29%)”“51 (34%)”
Moderate“38 (25%)”“55 (36%)”
Severe“1 (1%)”“9 (6%)”
Related to study drug“24 (16%)”“82 (54%)”
Serious adverse events“2 (1%)”“7 (5%)”
Leading to discontinuation“6 (4%)”“36 (24%)”
Deaths“0”“0”
Nausea“5 (3%)”“45 (30%)”
Headache“8 (5%)”“25 (17%)”
Dizziness“5 (3%)”“24 (16%)”
Fatigue“1 (1%)”“12 (8%)”
Vomiting“0”“12 (8%)”
Dysgeusia“0”“12 (8%)”
Fall“3 (2%)”“10 (7%)”
Asthenia“2 (1%)”“8 (5%)”
Hallucination (safety topic of interest)“0”“6 (4%)”
Somnolence (safety topic of interest)“6 (4%)”“5 (3%)”
Orthostatic hypotension (safety topic of interest)“1 (1%)”“4 (3%)”
Impulse control disorders (safety topic of interest)“0”“2 (1%)”
Hypotension (safety topic of interest)“0”“6 (4%)”
Summary of serious and other adverse events in the registry
Daytime sleepiness, impulse control, and suicidality scales in the registry
OutcomePlaceboTavapadon
ESS at week 26, LSM change (SE)“-0.1 (0.22)”“-0.1 (0.24)”
QUIP-RS at week 26, LSM change (SE)“-1.9 (0.31)”“-2.0 (0.34)”
C-SSRS participants with any suicidal ideation at week 27, count (%)“0”( “0.0%”)“5”( “3.3%”)
Study limitations
Summary: limitations of TEMPO-2

TEMPO-2 compared flexible-dose tavapadon with placebo over 27 weeks, with the primary endpoint at week 26, and included no active comparator. The investigators state that head-to-head comparisons with D2/D3 dopamine agonists are not possible and that the 6-month duration does not allow conclusions on adverse events of special interest that take longer to manifest. Discontinuation was higher with tavapadon than with placebo (57 of 151 [38%] vs 23 of 153 [15%]); adverse events accounted for 36 (24%) and 6 (4%) discontinuations, and 21 (14%) tavapadon participants discontinued for reasons other than adverse events. The investigators report that the 38% discontinuation with tavapadon exceeds the withdrawal percentages in comparable trials of ropinirole (11% to 31%), piribedil (20%), and pramipexole (17% to 22%), and that the protocol requirement to discontinue participants who could not tolerate a titration step or a minimum dose of 5 mg may have confounded discontinuation during titration. Because each participant received the highest tolerated dose from 5 mg to 15 mg, the trial does not estimate the effect of a specific dose; the publication reports maintenance doses of 5 mg in 18 (12%), 10 mg in 13 (9%), and 15 mg in 94 (62%) participants, and separately states that 110 (73%) of 151 reached maintenance dosing. The registry results include week-26 primary endpoint data for 99 of 151 tavapadon participants and 133 of 153 placebo participants, and the statistical analysis plan assumes that missing values are missing at random in the primary mixed model. P values at timepoints other than the primary timepoint are nominal, without multiplicity adjustment, and the investigators acknowledge clinimetric critiques of summing the MDS-UPDRS Part II and Part III scores. The PDQ-39 summary index did not differ between groups at week 26; the numerical results for the other secondary endpoints, including MDS-UPDRS Part III, the CGI scales, the Schwab and England scale, and the EQ-5D-5L, are summarized in the supplementary appendix, which was not among the documents reviewed. The statistical analysis plan records that 15 participants were randomized to the incorrect MAO-B inhibitor stratum. White participants made up 268 of 304 (88%) of the population. The prescribing information bases efficacy on MDS-UPDRS Part II, where the placebo-adjusted difference was -1.5 points (95% CI, -2.4 to -0.6). AbbVie funded the trial and participated in its design, data analysis, and interpretation.