Evicenter
MarkdownP&T meetings
Hibsago (bepirovirsen)

Chronic hepatitis B virus infection in adults without cirrhosis

Also known as GSK3228836
Manufacturer
GSK
Last updated
190 sources

Clinical evidence

ISIS 505358-CS1 first-in-human phase 1 study

24 evidence topics · 2 sources

Objective
Location and study date
Study design
Eligibility criteria
Treatment
Study outcomes
Rationale for using safety and tolerability as the primary endpoint
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Description of analysis sets
Results
Participant disposition
Baseline characteristics
Efficacy results
Plasma PK parameters by cohort (arithmetic mean, SD; tmax median, range; n = 3 per cohort)
Cohort (dose)DayCmax (µg/mL)tmax (h)AUC0–24h (µg • h/mL)CL/F (L/h)t1/2 (days)
B (150 mg single dose)1“4.67 (1.69)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“8 (6–8)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“58.3 (25.3)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“2.58 (0.85)”View highlighted excerpt for this quoteNot reported
C (300 mg single dose)1“9.47 (0.34)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“8 (6–8)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“112 (5.71)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“2.50 (0.13)”View highlighted excerpt for this quoteNot reported
D (450 mg single dose)1“15.8 (4.01)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“3 (3–8)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“194 (21.4)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“2.15 (0.22)”View highlighted excerpt for this quoteNot reported
M2 (300 mg, 6 doses)22“7.93 (2.23)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“6 (4–8)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“103 (19.4)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“2.03 (0.21)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“24.2 (6.06)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote
M3 (450 mg, 6 doses)22“11.0 (4.06)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“3 (2–4)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“121 (33.3)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“2.75 (0.86)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote“24.0 (2.35)”View highlighted excerpt for this quote
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes

Not applicable.

Safety results
Study limitations
Summary: study limitations

The first-in-human study enrolled 28 healthy volunteers at a single center in Canada, with 3 participants per active cohort and pooled placebo groups, so PK parameters rest on 3 values per dose and no participant had chronic HBV infection. Of 96 volunteers screened, 28 were randomized. The multiple-dose cohorts received 6 doses over 3 weeks, shorter than the approved 24-week course, and a 2025 correction to the funding section states that the study was “fully sponsored and funded by Ionis Pharmaceuticals, Inc.” at the time of the trial.