Evicenter
MarkdownP&T meetings
Hibsago (bepirovirsen)

Chronic hepatitis B virus infection in adults without cirrhosis

Also known as GSK3228836
Manufacturer
GSK
Last updated
190 sources

Clinical evidence

Study 205873 thorough QT study

28 evidence topics · 4 sources

Objective
Location and study date
Study dates and status in the registry record
FieldRegistry entry
Recruitment status“Completed”
Study start (actual)“2024-07-18”
Primary completion (actual)“2025-04-28”
Study completion (actual)“2025-04-28”
Results first posted“2026-07-10”
Other study identifiers“205873”
Study design
Eligibility criteria
Treatment
Study outcomes
Rationale for using placebo-corrected change from baseline in QTcF as the primary endpoint
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Enrollment and participants analyzed for the primary outcome
ArmStartedAnalyzed for the primary outcome
Bepirovirsen, four injections“5”“5”
Placebo, four injections“5”Not reported
Bepirovirsen, three injections“18”“18”
Placebo, three injections“18”Not reported
Description of analysis sets
Results
Participant disposition
Participant flow in the registry results
MilestoneBepirovirsen, four injectionsPlacebo, four injectionsBepirovirsen, three injectionsPlacebo, three injections
Started“5”“5”“18”“18”
Completed“5”“5”“18”“18”
Not completed“0”“0”“0”“0”
Baseline characteristics
Age in the registry results
CharacteristicBepirovirsen, four injectionsPlacebo, four injectionsBepirovirsen, three injectionsPlacebo, three injectionsTotal
Overall number of baseline participants“5”“5”“18”“18”“46”
Age (years), mean (SD)“31.4(11.24)”“33.2(4.02)”“39.4(7.96)”“38.6(10.29)”“37.5(9.20)”
Efficacy results
Primary outcome: placebo-corrected change from baseline in QTcF at Cmax
ArmParticipants analyzedGeometric mean (ms)90% CI (ms)
Bepirovirsen, four injections“5”“2.360”“(-0.249 to 4.970)”
Bepirovirsen, three injections“18”“2.024”“(-0.541 to 4.589)”
Bepirovirsen plasma PK parameters (geometric mean, geometric CV%)
ParameterBepirovirsen, four injections (n = 5)Bepirovirsen, three injections (n = 18)
Cmax (µg/mL)“16.88”“15.77”
AUC(0-24) (h·µg/mL)“204.01”“169.80”
AUC(0-t) (h·µg/mL)“215.04”“177.21”
Tmax (h)“4.10”“3.38”
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes

Not applicable.

Safety results
Deaths, serious adverse events, and other adverse events in the registry results
Study limitations
Summary: study limitations

Study 205873 gave a single supratherapeutic dose of bepirovirsen to 5 participants by four injections and 18 by three injections, with 5 and 18 placebo recipients in the corresponding arms; the higher-dose arm was stopped after 2 participants had systemic tolerability issues, leaving 5 participants at that dose. The registry describes the dose only as “dose level 1”, and the prescribing information states the supratherapeutic doses as 450 and 600 mg. AUC extrapolated to infinity was not calculated because there were not enough data points for a terminal slope, and single-dose data in healthy volunteers do not describe QTc effects during the 24-week course in patients with chronic hepatitis B.