Evicenter
P&T meetings

Hovilpri (pritelivir)

Refractory mucocutaneous herpes simplex virus infection in immunocompromised adults

Also known as AIC316
Last updated
239 sources

Clinical evidence

AIC316-03-I-01

55 evidence topics · 4 sources

Objective
Location and study date
Registry dates and status
FieldQuoted record
Study start (actual)“2020-07-13”
Primary completion (actual)“2020-10-13”
Study completion (actual)“2020-10-13”
First submitted“2022-08-22”
First posted“2022-08-24”
Results first submitted“2022-09-16”
Results first posted“2023-09-15”
Last update posted“2024-02-22”
Recruitment status“Completed”
Trial center, planned trial period, and document dates
Study design
Eligibility criteria
Age, sex, and healthy volunteer status in the registry record
FieldQuoted record
Ages eligible for study“18 Years to 45 Years”
Sexes eligible for study“All”
Accepts healthy volunteers“Yes”
Inclusion criteria: contraception and pregnancy testing
Treatment
Products, doses, and duration in the protocol and statistical plan summary
Study outcomes
Rationale for using pritelivir exposure as the primary endpoint
Statistical analysis description
Number of participants (Planned and analyzed)
Participants enrolled and analyzed on the registry
PopulationPritelivir 100 mg aloneEsomeprazole 40 mg and pritelivir 100 mg
Analyzed for Cmax, tmax, and tlag“16”“15”
Analyzed for AUC(0-last), AUC(0-infinity), λz, t1/2z, CL/F, and Vd/F“15”“15”
Participants in the pharmacokinetic comparison reported in the prescribing information
FieldQuoted record
Number of participants included in the pharmacokinetic analysis“15”
Description of analysis sets
Baseline analysis population posted with the registry results
AnalysisQuoted population description
Baseline characteristics“Safety Set”
Results
Participant disposition
Participant flow for the overall study
MilestoneParticipants
Started“16”
Completed“15”
Not completed“1”
Not completed: withdrawal by subject“1”
Baseline characteristics
Age, sex, and ethnicity
CharacteristicAll participants
Participants“16”
Age in years, mean (standard deviation)“29.6 (8.20)”
Female, count and percentage“5”“31.3%”
Male, count and percentage“11”“68.8%”
Hispanic or Latino, count and percentage“1”“6.3%”
Not Hispanic or Latino, count and percentage“15”“93.8%”
Ethnicity unknown or not reported, count and percentage“0”“0.0%”
Race, count and percentage of participants
CharacteristicAll participants
American Indian or Alaska Native“0”“0.0%”
Asian“0”“0.0%”
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander“0”“0.0%”
Black or African American“12”“75.0%”
White“4”“25.0%”
More than one race“0”“0.0%”
Race unknown or not reported“0”“0.0%”
Efficacy results
Geometric mean ratios of pritelivir exposure with and without esomeprazole
ParameterGeometric mean ratio (90% confidence interval), with esomeprazole relative to pritelivir alone
AUC0-inf“0.41 (0.36, 0.48)”
AUC0-last“0.41 (0.35, 0.47)”
Cmax“0.24 (0.20-0.30)”
Primary outcome measures on the registry: maximum concentration and area under the curve
Parameter, mean (standard deviation)UnitPritelivir 100 mg aloneEsomeprazole 40 mg and pritelivir 100 mg
Cmax“ng/mL”“1102 (421)”“282 (141)”
AUC(0-last)“ng*h/mL”“67599 (22012)”“28325 (11071)”
AUC(0-infinity)“ng*h/mL”“69140 (22147)”“29404 (11447)”
Secondary outcome measures on the registry: time to maximum concentration and lag time
Parameter, median (full range)UnitPritelivir 100 mg aloneEsomeprazole 40 mg and pritelivir 100 mg
tmax“hours”“3.00 (0.50 to 10.00)”“8.00 (0.75 to 48.00)”
tlag“hours”“0.00 (0.00 to 0.25)”“0.00 (0.00 to 0.25)”
Secondary outcome measures on the registry: elimination, clearance, and volume of distribution
Parameter, mean (standard deviation)UnitPritelivir 100 mg aloneEsomeprazole 40 mg and pritelivir 100 mg
Terminal elimination rate constant (λz)“1/h”“0.0106 (0.0020)”“0.00970 (0.0018)”
Terminal elimination half-life (t1/2z)“hours”“67.7 (12)”“73.7 (13)”
Apparent clearance (CL/F)“L/h”“1.58 (0.46)”“3.93 (1.6)”
Apparent volume of distribution (Vd/F)“L”“157 (63)”“432 (231)”
Health-related quality of life and patient-reported outcomes

Not applicable.

Safety results
Adverse event reporting period
Deaths, serious adverse events, and other adverse events
CategoryPritelivir 100 mg aloneEsomeprazole 40 mg and pritelivir 100 mg
All-cause mortality“0/16 (0.00%)”“0/15 (0.00%)”
Serious adverse events“0/16 (0.00%)”“0/15 (0.00%)”
Other (not including serious) adverse events“2/16 (12.50%)”“4/15 (26.67%)”
Adverse events by system organ class and preferred term
System organ classPreferred termPritelivir 100 mg alone, affected / at riskEsomeprazole 40 mg and pritelivir 100 mg, affected / at risk
Gastrointestinal disorders“Tooth impacted”“1/16 (6.25%)”“0/15 (0.00%)”
Infections and infestations“Upper respiratory tract infection”“0/16 (0.00%)”“1/15 (6.67%)”
Injury, poisoning and procedural complications“Ankle fracture”“1/16 (6.25%)”“0/15 (0.00%)”
Injury, poisoning and procedural complications“Lumbar vertebral fracture”“0/16 (0.00%)”“1/15 (6.67%)”
Injury, poisoning and procedural complications“Pulmonary contusion”“0/16 (0.00%)”“1/15 (6.67%)”
Injury, poisoning and procedural complications“Skin abrasion”“1/16 (6.25%)”“0/15 (0.00%)”
Musculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders“Myalgia”“0/16 (0.00%)”“1/15 (6.67%)”
Nervous system disorders“Headache”“0/16 (0.00%)”“1/15 (6.67%)”
Study limitations
Summary

AIC316-03-I-01 was an open-label, fixed-sequence trial without randomization in 16 healthy adults aged 18 to 45 years at 1 site. Pritelivir was given as a single 100 mg dose under fasted conditions, and esomeprazole 40 mg once daily was the only acid-reducing regimen tested. One participant withdrew before the second period, and 15 participants entered it. The registry posts means and standard deviations; the geometric mean ratios appear in the prescribing information. No metabolite result is posted, and no journal publication of the trial was identified.