Evicenter
P&T meetings

Hovilpri (pritelivir)

Refractory mucocutaneous herpes simplex virus infection in immunocompromised adults

Also known as AIC316
Last updated
239 sources

Product information and disease descriptionPlace of product in therapyApproaches to treatmentCurrent treatment options and standard of care

Compounded topical antivirals (Cidofovir, trifluridine, and foscarnet)

34 evidence topics · 25 sources

European Conference on Infections in Leukaemia recommendations: topical trifluridine and cidofovir gel rated CIII
Off-label status, dose, and monitoring of topical antivirals as tabulated in a review
Topical cidofovir and foscarnet in transplant recipients as tabulated in a review
ReportTopical regimenSystemic concurrent therapyTopical treatment adverse effectsOutcome
One recipient with oral HSV-1 infection (2020 report)“CDV 1% mouthwash for 3 months and topical cream for 2 months”“None”“None”“No resolution”
One recipient with oral HSV-1 infection (2016 report)“CDV rinse (3%/15 cm3 swish and spit four times a day)”“i.v. FOS in the first episode”“None”“Improvement with concurrent i.v. FOS. In the next episode, a resolution on CDV rinses monotherapy.”
One recipient with oral infection (2016 report of kidney injury)“CDV 5% oral gel twice a day”“i.v. ACV 5 mg/kg three times a day”“AKI, glucosuria”“No resolution”
One recipient with perianal infection (2016 report of kidney injury)“CDV cream 3–5% 2–4 times daily”“i.v. FOS, oral VACV”“AKI, glucosuria haemodialysis, and kidney biopsy revealed ATN”“Improvement”
One recipient with perianal HSV-2 infection (2011 report)“CDV 2%, ointment twice a day for 3 weeks”“None”“None”“Resolution”
One recipient with oral HSV-1 infection (2007 report)“CDV 3% rinse solution twice a day for 5 days”“None”“None”“Resolution”
Six recipients with oral HSV-1 infection (2020 series)“CDV 3% oral rinse solution twice a day and 1% CDV gel twice a day”“i.v. ACV (2 patients) and i.v. FOS (1 patient)”“None”“Response in 4/6 and resolution in 3/6”
One recipient with perianal HSV-1 infection (2013 report)“CDV 1% gel every 6 hours”“i.v. FOS”“None”“Resolution”
Nine of 18 recipients (2018 cohort)“CDV 1–3% once daily”“i.v. FOS, oral VACV or i.v. CDV”“AKI (concurrent i.v. FOS or CDV)”“Unspecified”
One recipient with oral HSV-1 infection, topical foscarnet (2023 report)“FOS mouthwash daily for 20 days”“i.v. CDV”“Not specified”“Not specified”
Two recipients with oral HSV-1 infection, topical foscarnet (2020 series)“FOS 2% cream”“None”“None”“Response in 2/2, resolution in 1/2”